Appel, Hampton and Wiggins Named to the 2007-08 'Wade Watch' List

Aug. 14, 2007

ATLANTA - The 2007-08 preseason 'Wade Watch' list for the State Farm Wade Trophy Division I Player of the Year was announced Tuesday by the Women's Basketball Coaches Association. The 25-member list, selected by a committee of leading coaches, journalists and basketball administrators, is comprised of top Division I student-athletes who best embody the spirit of Margaret Wade according to the following criteria: game and season statistics, leadership, character, effect on their team and overall playing ability.

'I believe the committee did an outstanding job choosing a group of student-athletes that excels both on and off the court,' said Jeanne Lenti Ponsetto, Chair of the State Farm Wade Trophy Committee and Athletic Director at DePaul University. 'These 25 skilled and talented young women represent the best the college game has to offer. With the level of play increasing year-by-year, we are sure to see yet another season of top-notch, exciting competition.'

The State Farm Wade Trophy, now in its 30th year and named after the late, legendary three-time national champion Delta State University coach, Lily Margaret Wade, debuted in 1978 as the first-ever women's national player of the year award in college basketball. This highly prestigious award, regarded as the 'Heisman of Women's Basketball', is organized by the Women's Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA), in conjunction with the National Association for Girls and Women in Sport (NAGWS).

A total of 17 institutions and seven conferences are represented in this season's installment of the 'Wade Watch' list. Maryland, Rutgers and Tennessee each add a trio of student-athletes with Marissa Coleman, Crystal Langhorne and Kristi Toliver for the Terrapins; Matee Ajavon, Essence Carson and Kia Vaughn for the Scarlett Knights; and Nicky Anosike, Alexis Hornbuckle and Candace Parker, last year's winner of the State Farm Wade Trophy who became the first-ever sophomore to receive the award, for the Lady Vols. Other schools with multiple representatives include Connecticut (Tina Charles and Renee Montgomery) and Stanford (Jayne Appel and Candice Wiggins).

Sylvia Fowles (LSU), Tasha Humphrey (Georgia), Erlana Larkins (North Carolina), Candice Wiggins (Stanford) and Langhorne have all become very familiar with the 'Wade Watch' list with this being their third consecutive selection.

The 2008 State Farm Wade Trophy winner will be announced at the WBCA National Convention held in conjunction with the NCAA Women's Final Four in Tampa, Fla., April 5-8, 2008.

2007-08 State Farm Wade Trophy Preseason List

Matee Ajavon, Rutgers UniversityCharel Allen, University of Notre DameJolene Anderson, University of Wisconsin, MadisonNicky Anosike, University of TennesseeJayne Appel, Stanford UniversityEssence Carson, Rutgers UniversityTina Charles, University of ConnecticutMarissa Coleman, University of MarylandSylvia Fowles, Louisiana State UniversityDevanei Hampton, University of CaliforniaAlexis Hornbuckle, University of TennesseeTasha Humphrey, University of GeorgiaCrystal Kelly, Western Kentucky UniversityCrystal Langhorne, University of MarylandErlana Larkins, University of North CarolinaAngel McCoughtry, University of LouisvilleRenee Montgomery, University of ConnecticutMarscilla Packer, Ohio State UniversityCourtney Paris, University of OklahomaCandace Parker, University of TennesseeKristi Toliver, University of MarylandKia Vaughn, Rutgers UniversityMarcedes Walker, University of PittsburghAbby Waner, Duke UniversityCandice Wiggins, Stanford University

The preseason candidates for the State Fame Wade Trophy are listed in alphabetical order

Founded in 1981, the WBCA promotes women's basketball by unifying coaches at all levels to develop a reputable identity for the sport and to foster and promote the development of the game as a sport for women and girls. For additional information about the WBCA, please visit

Now on Pac-12 Network
10:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder