2006-07 Tennis Year In Review

Aug. 21, 2007

Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader


UCLA captured the Conference men's tennis crown with a perfect 7-0 record. The Bruins defeated runner-up USC, 4-3, in the final dual match of the year to clinch its fourth Pac-10 title in a row and first outright since 2002. UCLA and USC then both advanced to the NCAA Quarterfinals. Washington and California also were selected for NCAA play but did not advance past the first round.

Washington's Alex Slovic had the best individual run in the NCAA Championships. After only making the draw as an alternate, Slovic upset four players ranked in the Top-40 of the ITA Rankings, two of which were in the Top-10, before falling to the top-seed in the semifinals.

Slovic and Pac-10 Player of the Year Benjamin Kohlloeffel of UCLA each earned All-American recognition. Kohlloeffel and teammate Philipp Gruendler were also named Pac-10 Doubles Team of the Year. Arizona State's Matt Brooklyn was named Newcomer of the Year, and USC's Peter Smith won Coach of the Year honors.

Stanford's Matt Bruch captured the Pac-10 Singles Championship for the second year in a row, and also won the doubles title along with partner Blake Muller.


STANFORD won the Conference title for the 20th year in a row, surviving a loaded Pac-10 field. The Cardinal were 8-0 in Conference play but were upset by second-place finisher UCLA in the NCAA Semifinals, snapping Stanford's run of three-straight NCAA titles. UCLA was defeated in the final by Georgia Tech, 4-2. California also reached the semifinals, giving the Conference three of the final four teams in the tournament.

USC's Lindsey Nelson was named Pac-10 Player of the Year after capturing the Pac-10 Singles Championship. She also reached the NCAA Singles Final for the second year in a row, but was defeated by Miami's Audra Cohen, 7-5, 6-2. The junior has been national runner-up the past two years. Pac-10 Doubles Team of the Year was awarded to California's Susie Babos and Zsuzsanna Fodor. Sarah Fansler of USC was named Freshman/Newcomer of the Year. Stanford Head Coach Lele Forood earned Pac-10 Coach of the Year honors for the third time for keeping the Cardinal Conference run in tact for another year.

At the Pac-10 Tennis Championships in Ojai, Calif., Nelson defeated Babos for the singles crown, and UCLA's Riza Zalameda and Yasmin Schnack earned the doubles title.

The Pac-10 produced 13 ITA All-Americans. In the final ITA Rankings, Stanford finished No. 2, UCLA came in at No. 3, California at No. 5, USC at No. 10, and Arizona State at No. 18. No. 42 Arizona, No. 43 Oregon, No. 50 Washington State, and No. 72 WASHINGTON also made the final rankings.

Now on Pac-12 Network
3:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder