2007 Wrestling Year In Review

Aug. 21, 2007

Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

OREGON STATE won the Pac-10 Championship for the first time since 1994. At the championship meet, the Beavers held off a final day surge from host-school Cal State Bakersfield. Oregon State finished with 110.0 points while the Roadrunners tallied 105.0. UC Davis placed third with 96.5 points.

Senior Derek Moore of UC Davis capped off an undefeated season with an NCAA Championship at 141 pounds, the first Division-I national title of any kind for Davis. Moore was named Most Outstanding Wrestler of the NCAA Championships in Auburn Hills, Mich. UC Davis' 22nd-place finish was the highest at NCAAs for any Pac-10 team. A total of 39 Pac-10 individuals competed at the NCAA Championships.

Moore was named Pac-10 Wrestler of the Year, and UC Davis Head Coach Lennie Zalesky earned Pac-10 Coach of the Year honors for the first time. Pac-10 Freshman/Newcomer of the Year was shared between freshman Zack Gieson of Stanford, and redshirt sophomore Brandon Halsey of Cal State Bakersfield.

Now on Pac-12 Network
6:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder