Longshore and Jackson Added to More Preseason Watch Lists

Aug. 22, 2007

Berkeley - Juniors Nate Longshore and DeSean Jackson of the No. 12-ranked California football team were added to more preseason national Watch Lists on Wednesday. Longshore was selected to both the Davey O'Brien Award list, which honors the nation's top quarterback, and the Walter Camp Football Foundation list, which honors the nation's top player. Jackson also joins Longshore on the Walter Camp Award Watch List.

The 2007 Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award features 35 of college football's most talked about quarterbacks. The O'Brien is presented annually to the nation's best college quarterback and inspires student-athletes to triumph both on and off the field. The Watch List is based on All-America teams and honorable mentions published in at least six different preseason college football magazines. A candidate must be listed as an All-America quarterback or as a first or second-team All-American within his conference in at least one publication, or as honorable mention in at least three publications.

Longshore stepped into the starting role at quarterback in 2006 and established himself as one of the top signal-callers in the Pac-10, if not the nation. As a sophomore, Longshore connected for 24 touchdowns while directing the Cal offense to a Pac-10 best 32.8 points per game. He became just the second Golden Bear to pass for over 3,000 yards in a single season (3,021), joining Pat Barnes, who set the school record with 3,499 yards in 1996. Longshore completed over 60 percent of his passes and ranked second in the Pac-10 in passing efficiency (141.64), touchdowns and third in yards per game (232.4) as he earned honorable mention all-league honors.

Earlier this preseason, Longshore landed a place on Manning Award Watch List, another national award which recognizes the nation's top quarterback.

'Along with athletic ability, The O'Brien winner must exhibit the same character and moral fiber that Davey O'Brien displayed throughout his life,' Davey O'Brien Foundation executive director Danielle Moorman said. 'We challenge Watch List candidates to live up to this fundamental aspect of our award while leading their teams into competition.'

The winner will be announced on The Home Depot College Football Awards Show on ESPN Dec. 6, 2007. The recipient will be honored Feb. 18, 2008, at the annual Davey O'Brien Awards Dinner at The Fort Worth Club in Fort Worth, Texas.

A 2007 Heisman Trophy hopeful, Jackson showed why he was one of the most exciting and dynamic players in the country in 2006. Jackson had four punt return touchdowns his sophomore campaign (five in his career) -- both school and Pac-10 records. He set a school-record with 455 total punt return yards, while his 18.2 punt return average was also a school-record for a single-season. This season, Jackson needs 338 yards receiving to crack Cal's top 10 career receiving yards chart. He has led the Bears in receiving the past two seasons.

The Walter Camp Football Foundation's Player of the Year award is the nation's fourth-oldest individual college football accolade.

'We are proud to continue the great work of Walter Camp and recognize the best college football players in the nation,' Foundation president John Barbarotta said. 'This watch list is a great start to what is shaping up to be another exciting year of college football.'

The watch list will be narrowed to ten semifinalists in early November. The 2007 Walter Camp Player of the Year recipient, which is voted on by the 119 NCAA Bowl Subdivision head coaches and sports information directors, will be announced on the ESPN/Home Depot College Football Awards Show in December. The winner will then receive his trophy at the Foundation's annual national awards banquet on January 12, 2008 at the Yale University Commons in New Haven.

Jackson has received numerous preseason accolades, including All-America honors from ESPN.

The Bears open the 2007 season on Saturday, Sept. 1, hosting the No. 15-ranked Tennessee Volunteers at Memorial Stadium in a 5 p.m. contest. Single-game tickets are available for all games except Tennessee, USC and Stanford. Season tickets are currently available by visiting www.CalBears.com or by calling 1-800-GO-BEARS.

Now on Pac-12 Network
11:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder