Pac-10 Announces Oroweat 'Healthy Minds' Postgraduate Scholarship Winners

Aug. 27, 2007

WALNUT CREEK, Calif.-- Kal Clark of ARIZONA STATE and Katy Trotter of STANFORD, both of whom are former cross country and track student-athletes, have been selected as the inaugural winners of the Oroweat 'Healthy Minds' Postgraduate Scholarship, Commissioner Tom Hansen announced today.

Clark and Trotter, chosen from a pool of Pac-10 postgraduate scholarship winners, which included 17 male recipients and 21 female recipients, are recognized by the Pac-10 and its corporate partner Oroweat for their overall excellence in athletics, academics, service and commitment to graduate education. Each will receive a $10,000 scholarship for graduate school.

'Oroweat is proud to present the 'Healthy Minds' scholarship program,' said Dan Larson, Oroweat's Director of Marketing. 'We congratulate and recognize the special achievements of Katy and Kal, and extend the best to all the Pac-10 postgraduate scholarship recipients in their continuing education. The Pac-10 Conference and Oroweat is an exciting partnership, reinforcing our values of health, nutrition and active lifestyles.'

Hailing from Pewee Valley, Ky., Clark was a four-year letter winner for the Sun Devils, having competed in the NCAA championships and the USATF Junior Cross Country Nationals during his collegiate career. He ran a personal best time of 31:41 in the 10K at the NCAA West Regionals in 2003 and finished as high as seventh overall at the 2004 Junior Nationals. Clark, a three-time first team Pac-10 All-Academic selection, is currently enrolled in medical school at Washington University in St. Louis.

Along with his efforts in sport and the classroom, Clark served as a mentor to underprivileged youth and as a volunteer in the Radiology Hospital.

Trotter, a native of Little Silver, N.J., was an eight-time All-American, a four-year letter winner and an All-Pac-10 performer, as she helped guide the Cardinal to three cross country national titles during her collegiate campaign. She ran an unusually wide range of events, including the 3000m steeplechase in which she set the Stanford record with a time of 10:07.55. A three-time second team Pac-10 All-Academic selection, Trotter is currently training for the 2008 Olympics.

In addition to her commitment to athletics and academics, Trotter volunteered her time at the Red Bank Veterinary Hospital, Stanford Habitat for Humanity and the Special Olympics. She plans on entering medical school in the Fall of 2008.

The 2006-07 institutional Pac-10 postgraduate scholarship winners were: ARIZONA (Adam Ritter, Holly Kast, Kathryn Elofson); Arizona State (Jesse Ainsworth, Clark, Cassidy Farwell, Heidi Knabe); CALIFORNIA (Alex Pribble, Daniel Sebescen, Erin Reilly, Elyse Wong); OREGON (Drew Larson, Eric Hastings, Suzie Barnes, Kristen Bitter); OREGON STATE (Bobby Pfennigs, Jeremy Larsen, Melissa Onstad, Neoma Palmer); Stanford (Mike Silva, Donny Simkin, Cassidy Krug, Trotter); UCLA (Eric Chaghouri, Emily Feher, Alexandra McGoodwin, Jackie Nguyen); USC (J.J. Owens, Pavol Valovic, Kinga Marciszewska, Lindsay Parker); WASHINGTON (Martin Bingisser, Jon Hickey, Asiha Grigsby, Cameo Hicks); WASHINGTON STATE (Lindsay Backhouse, Kaylee Gardner).

PAC-10 CONFERENCE: Named Kal Clark of Arizona State and Katy Trotter of Stanford winners of the Oroweat 'Healthy Minds' Postgraduate Scholarship.

Now on Pac-12 Network
5:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder