Stanford Rowing Alumni Complete Successful Outings At FISA World Rowing Championships

Sept. 4, 2007

2007 FISA World Rowing Championships

MUNICH, Germany - Stanford added three more 2008 Olympians to its ledger this past weekend as rowing alumni Sam Magee ('06), Jamie Schroeder ('06). and Adam Kreek ('07) all helped their boats to Olympic berths, whith Magee and Kreek each claiming gold medals with their respective boats. Another former Stanford rower, Sabrina Kolker ('05) of Canada, saw her boat just miss qualifying for Beijing by one place.

The U.S. women's eight of coxswain Mary Whipple (Sacramento, Calif.), Caryn Davies (Ithaca, N.Y.), Caroline Lind (Greensboro, N.C.), Susan Francia (Abington, Pa.), Anna Mickelson (Bellevue, Wash.), Sam Magee (Simsbury, Conn.), Anna Goodale (Camden, Maine), Lindsay Shoop (Charlottesville, Va.) and Brett Sickler (Los Gatos, Calif.) clocked a 6:17.20 to defeat Romania by 1.13 seconds en route its second consecutive world title. The crew, which included eight members of last year's winning boat, got off the line well and established a 0.49-second lead on second-place Canada at the 500-meter mark. At the midway point of the race, the U.S. continued to lead the Canadians by half a second, but that's when Romania began making its charge. The defending Olympic champions clocked the fastest middle 1,000 meters to move from sixth place to second position at the 1,500-meter mark, trailing the U.S. by just one second heading into the final quarter of the race. As the crews raced towards the finish line, Romania tried to challenge the U.S., but the American boat responded and went on to win the gold medal by just over one second. Romania finished second in a 6:18.33, with Great Britain winning the bronze medal with a time of 6:19.66.

'It was awesome, and it was kind of surreal,' Magee said. 'We totally pulled off our raceplan. It's been a tough year for me coming back from rib injury, so personally it was very satisfying. We had a hard week, not rowing so well, so pulling it off today was really cool.'

'My good friend Sabrina Kolker was in the 4-seat for Canada,' she continued. 'I get nervous before racing so I try to envision a familiar place, like Redwood Shores or the Port of Redwood City and doing 2k's down there, so that always brings me back home.'

The U.S. men's quadruple sculls crew of Mark Flickinger (Big Flats, N.Y.), Jamie Schroeder (Wilmette, Ill.), Deaglan McEachern (Portsmouth, N.H.) and J. Sloan DuRoss (South Portland, Maine) finished third in the B final for a ninth-place finish overall. The crew got off the line well and sat in second place behind Russia at the midway point of the race. During the third 500 meters, Estonia moved into second position place, but the U.S. was able to maintain a comfortable lead on the rest of the field for third. Russia won the race in a 5:51.06, followed by Estonia in a 5:52.79. The U.S. finished third in a 5:53.95, followed by Australia, Cuba and Belarus. The top five finishers earned their countries berths in the 2008 Olympic Games.

Kreek and Canada's men's eight boat took charge of their race, winning in 5:34.92; Germany and Great Britain followed in 5:37.19 and 5:37.95 respectively. The men's eight secured a spot at next year's Olympics just by being in the A final.

'The race today was absolutely incredible,' Kreek said afterwards. 'We went out to have the best race possible. we just cruised the entireway. We sat up tall, we got out, and we just cruised all the way. I'mlooking forward to training harder and getting even better!'

The eight's members are Hamilton of Richmond, B.C., Adam Kreek of London, Ont., Dominic Seiterle of Victoria, B.C., Malcolm Howard of Victoria, B.C., Jake Wetzel of Saskatoon, Sask., Andrew Byrnes of Toronto, Ont., Ben Rutledge of Cranbrook, BC, Kevin Light of Sidney, B.C., and (coxswain) Brian Price of Belleville, Ont.

Canada's women's eight, featuring Kolker, just missed an Olympic berth in their race. They finished sixth overall with a time of 6:23.10, but only the top five teams made it to the Olympics.

The eight consists of Heather Mandoli of Kelowna, B.C., Ashley Brzozowicz of Toronto, Ont., Kaylan Vander Schilden of Victoria, Sabrina Kolker of West Vancouver, B.C., Romina Stefancic of Victoria, Katie Reynolds of St. John, NB, Buffy Williams of St. Catharines, Ont., Sarah Bonikowsky of Orangeville, Ont., and Lesley Thompson-Willie of London, Ont. (cox).

Now on Pac-12 Network
4:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder