Golfers Win Mason Rudolph Classic

Sept. 16, 2007

With four players finishing in the Top 15 on Sunday, the fourth-ranked UCLA women's golf team won the Mason Rudolph Championship hosted by Vanderbilt at The Legends Club Ironhorse Course in Franklin, TN.

The Bruins ended a few years of futility at this event, soundly defeating a quality field for their first team title in more than a year. Five years ago, the Bruins held the 36-hole lead only to see it slip away in the final round. Sunday, they were one of just two teams to post a team score under par and the only team to record three rounds under par for the tournament. They also beat all three teams ranked ahead of them, including three-time defending NCAA champion Duke.

The Bruins won by 14 shots, recording a three-round total of 851 (-13), one of the best totals in school history. Second-ranked Arizona State captured runner-up honors at 865 (+1), followed by top-ranked Duke at 866 (+2). Oklahoma State, the only other team to post an under par round on Sunday, placed fourth at 871 (+7), followed by fifth-place Florida at 876 (+12).

Individually, four UCLA players finished in the Top 15 led by junior All-American Tiffany Joh, who tied for third place at six-under par 210 after a final round score of 71 (-1). Freshman Glory Yang placed seventh at 213 (-3), posting a final round score of 72 (-E). Freshman Maria Jose Uribe tied for 10th at even par 216, following a 76 (+4) on Sunday. Sophomore Sydnee Michaels tied for 15th at 217 (+1) after a 73 (+1) and junior Ryann O'Toole rebounded from Saturday's score of 80 to post a 71 (-1) and tie for 48th at nine-over par 225. Junior Maiya Tanaka, playing as an individual, tied for 74th at 232 (+16).

Duke's Amanda Blumenherst won the event with a 54-hole total of 203 (-13).

For complete results click here.

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder