Cross Country Set To Host 34th Annual Stanford Invitational

Sept. 25, 2007

The 34th edition of the Stanford Cross Country Invitational continues a tradition of high-level competition, featuring many of the top men's and women's athletes challenging for team and individual honors on the Stanford Golf Course. Student-athletes representing over 45 teams will compete in the collegiate races. The men will compete at 8,000 meters on the long course, while the women will race 6,000 meters. Also, both men and women will compete at 4,000 meters on the short course.

Defending back-to-back national champion and top-ranked Stanford highlights the women's collegiate fields. In his second season last year, head coach Peter Tegen led the squad to victories in six out of seven races, including successfully defending their national title in Terre Haute, IN. The Cardinal returns All-Americans Arianna Lambie, Teresa McWalters, Lindsay Flacks, and Lauren Centrowitz. Returners Lindsay Allen, Shannon Bergstedt, Alicia Follmar, Katie Harrington, Mary Liz McCurdy, Kate Niehaus, Madeleine O'Meara, Kaylin Pennington, Anne St. Geme, and Kelsey Walker will bolster the talented squad, as well as newcomers Madeline Duhon, Alexandra Gits, Stephanie Marcy, and Anna Schuessler. Racing a limited roster, Stanford opened up the season with a victory at the Chico State Invitational. The 22nd ranked Baylor team will challenge the Cardinal with a full squad in the 6,000 meter race. The Bears have already collected two team wins this season, anchored by All-American Nichole Jones. Cross-bay rival California will also race squads in both the 6,000 and 4,000 meters. California claimed a runner-up finish earlier this season at the San Francisco Invitational, led by Chelsea Reilly and Rebecca Yau who finished second and fourth, respectively.

The national champion Cardinal women look to defend last season's Stanford Invitational sweep.

The collegiate men's races again feature some of the top teams in the nation. Sixth-ranked Stanford will be the team to beat after finishing fourth at the NCAA Championships last season. The program boasts four NCAA team titles and nine of the last eleven Pac-10 championships. The Cardinal will be led by three-time cross country All-American Neftalem Araia, as well as All-Americans Russell Brown, Hakon DeVries, Michael Garcia, Garrett Heath, and Hari Mix. Stanford will enjoy another deep roster in 2007, strengthened by returners Steven Duplinsky, Jacob Evans, Eric Giddings, Alex Greenburg, Lauren Jespersen, Elliot Luscombe, Justin Marpole-Bird, John McGuire, Chris Mocko, Justin Reed, and Wes Walker, as well as talented newcomers Brendan Gregg, Thomas Gruenewald, Elliot Heath, Jacob Riley, and JT Sullivan. The 23rd ranked Cal Poly San Luis Obispo team, who already collected two team victories this season, will challenge Stanford in the 8,000 meters. The Mustangs are led by Phillip Reid and Evan Anderson, who have both recorded individual victories on the year. Fellow Pac-10 foe University of Arizona will also look to challenge the Cardinal. The Wildcats posted a runner-up finish in their first meet of the season at the George Kyte Classic, led by Lou Maturo and Reed Blochberger, who finished 12th and 15th, respectively.

9:00 AM - J.V. Boys Divisions 3, 4, 5
9:21 AM - J.V. Girls Divisions 3, 4, 5
9:46 AM - Varsity Boys Division 5
10:10 AM - Varsity Girls Division 5
10:40 AM - Varsity Boys Division 4
11:05 AM - Varsity Girls Division 4
11:34 AM - Varsity Boys Division 3
11:58 AM - Varsity Girls Division 3
12:30 PM - J.V. Boys Division 2
12:48 PM - J.V. Boys Division 1
1:06 PM - J.V. Girls Divisions 1 & 2
1:26 PM - Varsity Boys Division 2
1:51 PM - Varsity Girls Division 2
2:24 PM - Varsity Boys Division 1
2:49 PM - Varsity Girls Division 1
3:21 PM - Varsity Boys Seeded
3:44 PM - Varsity Girls Seeded

4:15pm - Men 8000 Meter Race (long course)
4:48pm - Women 6000 Meter Race (long course)
5:22pm - Men 4000 Meter Race (short course)
5:42pm - Women 4000 Meter Race (short course)

Now on Pac-12 Network
9:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder