Huskies Begin Fall Season Hosting Ihlanfeldt Invitational

Oct. 4, 2007

SEATTLE - The Washington women's golf team will make its 2007 fall debut hosting the 26th annual Edean Ihlanfeldt Invitational at the par-72, 6,127-yard Sahalee Country Club in Sammamish, Wash., Monday, Oct. 8 through Wednesday, Oct. 10.

The tournament features a 54-hole format with 18 holes to be played each day. First round tee times on Monday begin at a 9 a.m., with second round action on Tuesday teeing off at 10 a.m. and the final round to start at 9 a.m., Wednesday. Teams will be starting from both the 1st and 10th tees. Live scoring of the event will be available at

The 16-team field for this year's event includes eight squads that are ranked in the latest Golf World/NGCA Golf Coaches' Poll: No. 3 Arizona State, No. 4 USC, No. 7 Arizona, No. 11 Pepperdine, No. 15 Stanford, No. 18 New Mexico, No. 20 BYU and No. 22 California. The field also includes Long Beach State, Oregon, Oregon State, Penn State, UNLV, San Francisco, Washington State and the host Huskies.

The Edean Ihlanfeldt Invitational is named for the founder of the Washington women's golf program. One of the Pacific Northwest's most honored golfers, Ihlanfeldt started the UW program in 1974. She never accepted payment for her work as the Huskies coach, instead donating her salary back to the program to fund scholarships.

The Huskies have never won the team title at the Ihlanfeldt Invitational, but two Washington players have claimed medalist honors. Nancy Kessler won the individual title in 1987 and Dodie Mazzuca, on the strength of a final-round score of 65, tied Stanford's Andrea Baxter for medalist honors in 1996.

The Huskies' lineup for the tournament will include sophomore Christina Yoon (Toronto, Ontario), freshman Nicole Ferrero (Lodi, Calif.), freshman Anya Alvarez (Jenks, Okla.), sophomore Molly Aronsson (Shelburne, Vt.), and freshman Katie Saucier (Bainbridge Island, Wash.). UW will also have two individuals playing in the tournament with sophomore Molly Boyle (Portland, Ore.) and freshman Karinn Dickinson (Mukilteo, Wash.).

Last year Stanford won the team title by six strokes over New Mexico, led by sophomore Mari Chun who won medalist honors with a 1-under 215. Chun shot a tournament-low 4-under 68 in the opening round. It marked the fourth time Stanford won a team title at the Ihlanfeldt Invitational after claiming top honors in 1990, 1994 and 1996.

After their debut at the Ihlanfeldt Invitational, the Huskies will compete in two more fall tournaments - the Stanford Intercollegiate (Oct. 19-21) and the Las Vegas Collegiate Showdown (Oct. 29-31). The traditional spring season starts for UW at the Arizona Invitational (Feb. 25-27).

  • Pac-12 Sports Report: NBA Draft Special
    Thu 6/21 | 2:00pm PT

    Airing on:

    • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder