Robert Cox Trophy Now on Display in UCLA Hall of Fame

Oct. 5, 2007

The U.S. Women's Amateur trophy, won by freshman Maria Jose Uribe, is now on display in the Hall of Champions of UCLA's Athletics Hall of Fame.

The Robert Cox Trophy, awarded to the winner of the U.S. Women's Amateur Championship, dates to 1896. Sixteen-year old Beatrix Hoyt of the Shinnecock Hills Golf Club on Long Island, NY won the championship that year at the Morris County Golf Club in Morristown, NJ. Hoyt, who remained the youngest champion for 75 years until Laura Baugh won the tournament in 1971, won the next two titles (1897 and '98) and remains one of just five women to win three consecutive championships.

The U.S. Women's Amateur Championship dates to 1895 and was won by Mrs. Charles S. Brown (Lucy Barnes Brown) at the Meadow Brook Club in Hempstead, NY. Following her victory that year, Mrs. Brown was awarded a silver pitcher for outright possession, and that trophy was kept until 1952 when her son donated it to the USGA.

Three UCLA players have won the Robert Cox Trophy: Kay Cockerill (1986 and '87), Jane Park (2004) and the reigning champion, Maria Jose Uribe (2007). Today's championship is a grueling test of golf: 36 holes of stroke play in which the top 64 players qualify for the match play competition. The champion endures five rounds of match play, including a 36-hole final.

In the 2007 championship, the 17-year old Uribe faced Amanda Blumenherst, the two-time college player of the year from Duke University. The two players battled head-to-head in the final, until Blumenherst three-putted for a bogey on the 35th hole, giving Uribe a 1-up lead. Both players made par on the 36th hole and Uribe became the 107th champion of the U.S. Women's Amateur tournament.

Now on Pac-12 Network
6:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
  • Pac-12 Sports Report: NBA Draft Special
    Thu 6/21 | 9:00pm PT

    Airing on:

    • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder