Cross Country Heading to Indiana for Pre-National Invitational

Oct. 11, 2007

Eric Peterson and the men's and women's UCLA cross country teams will travel to the midwest on Saturday for the Pre-National Invitational in Terre Haute, IN. The meet brings together the top teams and runners in the country in a prequel to the NCAA Championships in November.

Bruin Men
The men's team, currently ranked 19th in the country, has won three of the four meets they have been entered in this season. After a strong fifth-place showing at the Bill Dellinger Invite in late September, the Bruins are primed and ready for a fine finish in Indiana.

Fourteen top-30 ranked teams are slated to compete in the 8k Blue Race, including UCLA. The No. 2 team in the country, Wisconsin, is the highest-ranked team in the race, while Pac-10 teams Arizona, California and Washington will also be there on Saturday with the race beginning at 8:00 am (PST).

Teams competing with UCLA in the Blue Race
Air Force, Alabama (#8), Arizona, BYU, California, Cincinnati, Clemson, Columbia, Dartmouth, Dayton, Duquesne, Florida State (#25), Georgia, Indiana, Iona (#4), Iowa, Iowa State (#23), IUPUI, Kent State, Louisville (#17), Miami/Ohio, Michigan State, Mississippi, Montana State, Morehead State, Northern Arizona (#15), Nebraska, New Mexico, Ohio State, Oklahoma State (#6), Portland (#13), Tennessee, Tulsa, Villanova (#22), Virginia (#29), Washington (#27), Wisconsin (#2), and Wyoming.

Competing for UCLA will be Marco Anzures, Laef Barnes, Alex Crabill, Henry Hagenbuch, Dylan Knight, Spencer Knight, Jake Matthews, Marlon Patterson, Austin Ramos, Drew Shackleton, Kyle Shackleton and Evan Watchempino.

Bruin Women
The women's team will compete in the 6k White Race along with 37 other teams including 10 top-30 ranked teams. This race will begin at 9:55 am (PST)

Teams competing with UCLA in the White Race
State, Baylor, Belmont, BYU (#15), Colorado (#2), Duquesne, Florida (#20), Georgia (#28), Georgia Tech, Illinois (#10), Iowa (#23), Iowa State, Kansas, Kent State, Liberty, Louisville, Michigan (#13), Morehead State, Oakland, Ohio U., Portland, Princeton (#8), Providence (#18), Purdue, Stony Brook, UAB, UCLA, UNC-Chapel Hill, UNLV, William & Mary, Western Kentucky, Washington (#12), Weber State, Wisconsin-Milwaukee, Wyoming, Yale.

Competing for the women's team will be Annie Adams, Olga Aulet-Leon, Allie Bohannon, Lauren Jirges, Cobbie Jones, Shannon Murakami, Nicole Pennes, Claire Rethmeier, Hannah Roeder and Ciara Viehweg.

Now on Pac-12 Network
8:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder