2008 Cal Baseball Announces 2008 Schedule; Hosts Alumni Game Sunday

Oct. 12, 2007

BERKELEY, CALIF. -

The 2008 California baseball team, featuring returning 2007 All-Pac-10 performers Tyson Ross and David Cooper, will host the annual Cal Baseball Alumni Game, Sunday, Oct. 14 at 1 p.m. at Evans Diamond. Admission is free. There will also be a Papa Bear featuring former Cal baseball players competing against each other that will begin at 10 a.m. Sunday.

Head coach David Esquer's Bears, who barely missed an NCAA regional last season after finishing 29-26 overall and 12-12 in the Pac-10, return several experienced players, including junior right-hander Ross (6-6, 2.49 ERA, 120 strikeouts in 115.2 innings) and sophomore first baseman Cooper (.382, 12 home runs, 55 RBI). Besides being all-conference, Ross was one of the top pitchers this summer on the USA National Team and was a semifinalist for the 2007 Golden Spike Award. Cooper was an all-league performer who led the Bears in nearly every offensive category after transferring from Cal State Fullerton.

Cal also returns 2007 Collegiate Baseball Freshman All-American Jeff Kobernus (.331, 22 RBI, 13 stolen bases) and three 2007 honorable mention All-Pac-10 performers - junior right-hander Matt Gorgen (nine saves, 75 strikeouts in 61.0 innings, 2.51 ERA), junior left-hander Craig Benningson (5-3, 3.34 ERA) and sophomore right fielder Blake Smith (.320, six home runs, 30 RBI). The Bears' senior class includes three veteran stalwarts - infielder Josh Satin, outfielder Jordan Karnofsky and starting right-hander Alex Rollin. Cal showcases a large class of 11 newcomers as well.

Cal began its fall practice on Monday and will continue to train through mid-November. The Bears open their regular 2008 season with three home games at Evans Diamond during the Feb. 22-24, 2008 weekend. On Feb. 22, Cal plays Kansas State at 1:30 p.m.; on Saturday, Feb. 23 the Bears will play a doubleheader against Utah Valley State beginning at 11 a.m.; and on Sunday, Feb. 24, Cal will play Kansas State at 1 p.m. in a single game.

Seven of the Bears' opponents this upcoming 2008 season were 2007 NCAA Regional participants, including two-time defending national champion Oregon State, who will visit Evans Diamond Apr. 4-6, 2008. Cal also travels to San Diego, Feb. 28-Mar. 2 to compete at the University of San Diego Tournament, and to Minneapolis, Minn. Mar. 7-9 to compete in the University of Minnesota Tournament.

2008 CALIFORNIA BASEBALL SCHEDULE

2/22/08 Friday Kansas State Berkeley 1:30 p.m.2/23/08 Saturday Utah Valley State (DH) Berkeley 11:00 a.m.2/24/08 Sunday Kansas State Berkeley 1:00 p.m.2/28/08 Thursday vs. Fresno State! San Diego, Calif. 1:00 p.m.2/29/08 Friday vs. Missouri! San Diego, Calif. 1:00 p.m.3/1/ 08 Saturday vs. San Diego State! San Diego, Calif. 6:00 p.m.3/2/08 Sunday at University of San Diego! San Diego, Calif. 1:00 p.m.3/4/08 Tuesday Stanford Berkeley 1:30 p.m.3/7/08 Friday vs. Northern Iowa@ Minneapolis, Minn. 1:00 p.m.3/8/08 Saturday at Minnesota@ Minneapolis, Minn. 6:30 p.m.3/9/08 Sunday vs. New Mexico@ Minneapolis, Minn. 11:00 a.m.3/11/08 Tuesday San Francisco Berkeley 2:00 p.m.3/14/08 Friday Loyola Marymount Berkeley 2:00 p.m.3/15/08 Saturday Loyola Marymount (DH) Berkeley 11:00 a.m.3/16/08 Sunday Loyola Marymount Berkeley 1:00 p.m.3/18/08 Tuesday Sacramento State Berkeley 2:00 p.m.3/20/08 Thursday at Washington State* Pullman, Wash. 6:00 p.m.3/21/08 Friday at Washington State* Pullman, Wash. 6:00 p.m.3/22/08 Saturday at Washington State* Pullman, Wash. 1:00 p.m.3/25/08 Tuesday at Santa Clara Santa Clara, Calif. 6:00 p.m.3/26/08 Wednesday Pacific Berkeley 3:00 p.m.3/28/08 Friday Long Beach State Berkeley 2:30 p.m.3/29/08 Saturday Long Beach State Berkeley 1:00 p.m.3/30/08 Sunday Long Beach State Berkeley 1:00 p.m.4/1/08 Tuesday at San Francisco San Francisco, Calif. 2:00 p.m.4/2/08 Wednesday Fresno State Berkeley 2:30 p.m.4/4/08 Friday Oregon State* Berkeley 2:30 p.m.4/5/08 Saturday Oregon State* Berkeley 1:00 p.m.4/6/08 Sunday Oregon State* Berkeley 1:00 p.m.4/7/08 Monday Stanford Berkeley 2:30 p.m.4/9/08 Wednesday Santa Clara Berkeley 2:30 p.m.4/11/08 Friday at USC* Los Angeles, Calif. 6:00 p.m.4/12/08 Saturday at USC* Los Angeles, Calif. 1:00 p.m.4/13/08 Sunday at USC* Los Angeles, Calif. 1:00 p.m.4/15/08 Tuesday at UC Davis Davis, Calif. 2:30 p.m.4/16/08 Wednesday at Pacific Stockton, Calif. 2:00 p.m.4/18/08 Friday Washington* Berkeley 2:30 p.m.4/19/08 Saturday Washington* Berkeley 1:00 p.m.4/20/08 Sunday Washington* Berkeley 1:00 p.m.4/22/08 Tuesday Cal Poly Berkeley 2:30 p.m.4/25/08 Friday at Arizona State* Tempe, Ariz. 7:00 p.m.4/26/08 Saturday at Arizona State* Tempe, Ariz. 1:00 p.m.4/27/08 Sunday at Arizona State* Tempe, Ariz. 1:00 p.m.4/30/08 Wednesday at Cal Poly San Luis Obispo, Calif. 6:00 p.m.5/2/08 Friday Arizona* Berkeley 2:30 p.m.5/3/08 Saturday Arizona* Berkeley 1:00 p.m.5/4/08 Sunday Arizona* Berkeley 1:00 p.m.5/6/08 Tuesday UC Davis Berkeley 2:30 p.m.5/9/08 Friday at Stanford* Stanford, Calif. 6:00 p.m.5/10/08 Saturday at Stanford* Stanford, Calif. 1:00 p.m.5/11/08 Sunday at Stanford* Stanford, Calif. 1:00 p.m.5/23/08 Friday UCLA* Berkeley 2:30 p.m.5/24/08 Saturday UCLA* Berkeley 1:00 p.m.5/25/08 Sunday UCLA* Berkeley 1:00 p.m.

! Denotes University of San Diego Tournament, San Diego, Calif.@ Denotes University of Minnesota Tournament, Minneapolis, Minn.* Denotes Pac-10 Game

Categories:
Now on Pac-12 Network
5:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Unable to get Pac-12 Network?
Contact your provider ▶
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder
Close