Ryan Anderson Named Preseason Candidate for Wooden Award

Oct. 24, 2007

BERKELEY - Sophomore forward Ryan Anderson, the leading returning scorer in the Pac-10, has been named one of 50 preseason candidates for the 2007-08 John R. Wooden Award.

The 6-10 Anderson averaged 16.3 ppg and 8.2 rpg for the Bears last season, ranking fifth in the conference in both categories. He was named a second-team freshman All-American by Basketball Times and was voted to the Pac-10 All-Freshman squad. In addition, he set a school freshman record by grabbing 269 boards during the year, breaking the mark of 256 set by Leon Powe in 2004, and sank 58 three-pointers, just two off the Cal freshman mark.

Early in his rookie campaign, Anderson was chosen MVP of the Great Alaska Shootout after he led Cal to the title, contributing 17.3 ppg and 9.3 rpg in three games. Later, he was selected to the Pac-10 All-Tournament team after scoring a season-high 27 points vs. Oregon State in the opening round and helping the Bears to the semifinals.

'The committee had a tough time deciding on just 50 candidates, with so many returning talented players across the country,' said Duke Llewellyn, Wooden Award chairman. 'Some teams even had several worthy candidates. Our team at the John R. Wooden Award is excited to see the best players in the nation compete against each other all season, as they vie to be named college basketball's player of the year.'

The Award is named for John Wooden, the three-time All-American, 1932 Player of the Year and 10-time national championship coach at UCLA. More than 100 players received at least one vote.

The list is composed of 50 student-athletes who, based on last year's individual performance and team records, are the early frontrunners for the award. Transfers, freshmen and medical redshirts are not eligible for the preseason list, but will be evaluated and considered for both the Midseason Top 30 list and the National Ballot.

A total of 16 NCAA conferences are represented, and the Pac-10 leads the way with 10 candidates. Other conferences include the Big East (eight players), the ACC (seven players), the Big 12 (six players), the SEC (five players), the Big Ten (two players), the Sun Belt (two players), Western Athletic (two players), Conference USA (one player), Southern Conference (one player), the Sun Belt (one player), the Horizon League (one player), the Colonial Athletic Association (one player), the Big South (one player), West Coast (one player) and the Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference (one player).

In January, the Wooden Award committee will release the Midseason Top 30 list, followed by the distribution of the national ballot to more than 1,000 voters in early March. The 10-player Wooden Award All-American team will be announced the Tuesday after the 'Elite Eight' round of the NCAA Tournament is completed.

The 2008 award ceremony, which will include the presentation of the men's and women's John R. Wooden Award, the Wooden Award All-American teams, and the Legends of Coaching Award to recipient Pat Summitt of the University of Tennessee, will be held at The Los Angeles Athletic Club the weekend of April 11-13, 2008. The top five male and female finalists will be invited to Los Angeles for the award's ceremony and will receive a contribution from The Los Angeles Athletic Club for their university's general scholarship fund. One of these five players will be named the John R. Wooden Award Player of the Year at a live televised announcement from The Club where he is awarded the prestigious five-figured bronze trophy.

Wooden Award Preseason
All-American Team - Top 50 Candidates

Jeff Adrien, Connecticut
Ryan Anderson, California
D.J. Augustin, Texas
Patrick Beverley, Arkansas
Jon Brockman, Washington
Chase Budinger, Arizona
Jaycee Carroll, Utah State
Mario Chalmers, Kansas
Darren Collison, UCLA
Brandon Costner, NC State
Stephen Curry, Davidson
Eric Devendorf, Syracuse
Chris Douglas-Roberts, Memphis
Randal Falkner, Southern Illinois
Shan Foster, Vanderbilt
Taj Gibson, USC
James Gist, Maryland
Jamont Gordon, Mississippi State
Kentrell Gransberry, So. Florida
A.J. Graves, Butler
Malik Hairston, Oregon
Tyler Hansbrough, North Carolina
Richard Hendrix, Alabama
Roy Hibbert, Georgetown
Dominic James, Marquette
Joseph Jones, Texas A&M
Marcelus Kemp, Nevada
Ty Lawson, North Carolina
Courtney Lee, Western Kentucky
Chris Lofton, Tennessee
Derrick Low, Washington State
Aleks Maric, Nebraska
Eric Maynor, VCU
Bo McCalebb, New Orleans
Drew Neitzel, Michigan State
DeMarcus Nelson, Duke
Jeremy Pargo, Gonzaga
Jeff Pendergraph, Arizona State
Scottie Reynolds, Villanova
Tyrese Rice, Boston College
Brandon Rush, Kansas
Josh Shipp, UCLA
Sean Singletary, Virginia
Jason Thompson, Rider
Johnathan Wallace, Georgetown
Kyle Weaver, Washington State
D.J. White, Indiana
Reggie Williams, VMI
Terrence Williams, Louisville
Martin Zeno, Texas Tech

Now on Pac-12 Network
11:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder