USC Women Swimmers At SMU Classic

Oct. 24, 2007

Eight members of the No. 15 USC women's swim team will participate in the SMU Classic, hosted by the SMU Mustangs on Friday and Saturday (Oct. 26-27) in Dallas.

In addition to USC and SMU, Wisconsin, Alabama, Florida State and Texas A&M will compete in the two-session meet in which each school is allowed only eight swimmer each. Points for the meet will be awarded based on a two-heat per event system with only one swimmer from each school allowed in a heat.

USC second-year coach Dave Salo is taking seniors Whitney Hentzen, Brittany Allen and Emily Goetsch, juniors Kristen Lahey, Katy Houston, Rebecca Soni and Rachael Waller and sophomore Whitney Stephenson.

The Women of Troy are 2-0 overall, 1-0 in the Pac-10. They opened the season with a win against Pac-10 rival Oregon State, 145-112, on Oct. 12. In the win, Waller won twice (100y and 200y free) and posted NCAA consideration times in the 200y free (1:49.25) and 200y fly (2:02.53).

Seven days later, USC defeated host Notre Dame, 158.5-103.5. Soni, the two-time defending NCAA champion in the 200y breast, won races in the 100y (1:00.81) and 200y breast (2:11.47), recording NCAA automatic qualifying times in each. She also won the 200y IM in an NCAA consideration 2:03.88. Lahey posted wins in the 100y back (55.05, NCAA `B' cut), the 100y free (51.06) and the 100y fly (55.96).

Other swimmers already with NCAA consideration marks are Hentzen in the 500y free (4:52.92), Houston in the 100y (1:03.26) and 200y breast (2:16.83) and Soni in the 200y IM (2:03.88)

USC Swimmers in 2006-2007 Postseason
The Women of Troy return 10 swimmers and divers with NCAA Championships experience: seniors Emily Goetsch, Whitney Hentzen, Brittany Allen and diver Kim Popp, juniors Rebecca Soni, Kristen Lahey, Rachael Waller, Missy McIntyre and Katy Houston and sophomore Whitney Stephenson. Soni is USC's lone returning All-American.

Allen (500y free, 1650y free), Lahey (100y fly, 100y back), Soni (100y and 200y breast), Popp (platform) and Houston (200y breast) were all Pac-10 Championship event finalists, as was sophomore diver Alex DeMond (1-meter).