Atlanta Tipoff Club Announces Naismith Trophy Preseason Watch List

Oct. 25, 2007

ATLANTA (Oct. 25, 2007) - Twelve representatives from seven Pac-10 conference programs headline the 2007-08 Naismith Trophy presented by AT&T preseason candidate watch list, the Atlanta Tipoff Club announced today. Led by UCLA with three (Darren Collison, Luc Richard Mbah a Moute, Josh Shipp), California (2), Stanford (2), WashingtonState (2), Arizona (1), Washington (1) and USC (1) also were represented. North Carolina tied UCLA with three (Wayne Ellington, Tyler Hansbrough, Ty Lawson), and the ACC had the second-most candidates with seven.

The watch list was compiled by the Atlanta Tipoff Club's Board of Selectors, which based its pre-season criteria on player performances from last season and expectations for the 2007-08 season. Seniors and juniors accounted for 17 apiece, along with 16 sophomores. The list does not include incoming freshmen, although those student-athletes will be considered in the first vote in January, 2008. The Naismith Trophy is the most prestigious national award presented annually to college basketball's players of the year.

'The talent level is vast and far-reaching which indicates competition continues to grow at a high rate,' said Gary Stokan, Atlanta Tipoff Club president. 'The winner of the Naismith Trophy can come from any conference and any class rank, as we witnessed last year with our first ever freshman winner, Kevin Durant of Texas.'