Hardin, Anderson on Naismith Watch List

Oct. 25, 2007

BERKELEY - Senior center DeVon Hardin and sophomore forward Ryan Anderson are among 12 representatives from the Pac-10 who have been named to the 2007-08 Naismith Trophy preseason watch list.

The watch list includes 50 players and was compiled by the Atlanta Tipoff Club's Board of Selectors, which based its preseason criteria on player performances from last season and expectations for the 2007-08 campaign. Seniors and juniors accounted for 17 apiece, along with 16 sophomores. The list does not include incoming freshmen, although those student-athletes will be considered in the first vote in January 2008. The Naismith Trophy is presented annually to college basketball's players of the year.

'The talent level is vast and far-reaching which indicates competition continues to grow at a high rate,' said Gary Stokan, Atlanta Tipoff Club president. 'The winner of the Naismith Trophy can come from any conference and any class rank, as we witnessed last year with our first ever freshman winner, Kevin Durant of Texas.'

Hardin is the leading returning shot-blocker in the Pac-10 with 95 entering the season - a total that ranks fifth on Cal's all-time list. Named to the preseason first-team All-Pac-10 squad by Athlon magazine, he is rated the No. 7 post in the country by Athlon and No. 7 center by rivals.com. In an injury-shortened season last year, Hardin averaged 10.7 ppg and 8.4 rpg in 11 games before being sidelined by a stress fracture in his foot.

Anderson, who is also considered one of 50 preseason candidates for the Wooden Award, averaged 16.3 ppg and 8.2 rpg as a freshman last year to rate fifth in the Pac-10 in both categories. Voted MVP of the 2006 Great Alaska Shootout, he was also chosen Pac-10 All-Freshman, second-team freshman All-America and Pac-10 All-Tournament during the course of the season.

AT&T will continue to allow fans to participate in determining this year's winner. Through the power and ease of text messaging, fan voting will account for an unprecedented 25 percent of the final results - more than any other national college basketball award.

In January, the Naismith Trophy voting academy, comprised of leading basketball journalists, coaches and administrators from around the country, will narrow its preseason list to the Top 30 players in the nation. Those players, and others who distinguish themselves throughout the season, will be eligible for the final ballot in March. Beginning in mid-February, CBS' 'AT&T at the Half' will feature a weekly Naismith Trophy update highlighting the players in contention. In April, the Naismith Trophy winner will be recognized at the NCAA Men's Final Four in San Antonio.

Last year's Naismith Trophy recipient was University of Texas forward Kevin Durant, who became the first freshmen ever to win the award. Other notable men's college player of the year winners include Bill Walton, Larry Bird, Michael Jordan, Patrick Ewing and David Robinson.

For more information, visit www.naismithawards.com.

The pre-season men's candidates for the Naismith Trophy presented by AT&T, listed in alphabetical order, are as follows:

Ryan Anderson, California
Darrell Arthur, Kansas
DJ Augustin, Texas
Patrick Beverley, Arkansas
Jon Brockman, Washington
Chase Budinger, Arizona
Jaycee Carroll, Utah State
Mario Chalmers, Kansas
Geary Claxton, Penn State
Darren Collison, UCLA
Brandon Costner, North Carolina State
Stephen Curry, Davidson
Will Daniels, Rhode Island
Joey Dorsey, Memphis
Chris Douglas-Roberts, Memphis
Wayne Ellington, North Carolina
Taj Gibson, USC
Jamont Gordon, Mississippi State
Tyler Hansbrough, North Carolina
DeVon Hardin, California
Gerald Henderson, Duke
Josh Heytvelt, Gonzaga
Roy Hibbert, Georgetown
Lawrence Hill, Stanford
Dominic James, Marquette
Marcelus Kemp, Nevada
Drew Lavender, Xavier
Ty Lawson, North Carolina
Courtney Lee, Western Kentucky
Chris Lofton, Tennessee
Brook Lopez, Stanford
Derek Low, Washington State
Aleks Maric, Nebraska
Eric Maynor, Virginia Commonwealth
Luc Richard Mbah a Moute, UCLA
Ben McCauley, North Carolina State
Raymar Morgan, Michigan State
Drew Neitzel, Michigan State
Ahmad Nivins, St. Joseph
David Padgett, Louisville
Scottie Reynolds, Villanova
Brandon Rush, Kansas
Josh Shipp, UCLA
Sean Singletary, Virginia
Marreese Speights, Florida
Hasheem Thabeet, Connecticut
Jonathan Wallace , Georgetown
Kyle Weaver, Washington State
DJ White, Indiana
Terrence Williams, Louisville

Now on Pac-12 Network
10:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder