Cross Country Remains In Oregon For NCAA West Regional

Nov. 9, 2007

Complete Release in PDF FormatGet Acrobat Reader

Up NextAfter competing at the Pac-10 Championships on October 27, the Cardinal head to Eugene, OR as they prepare for the NCAA West Regional on Saturday, November 10. The meet will be run at the Springfield Country Club. The regional men's 10,000-meter race is set for an 11:00 a.m. start, and the women's 6,000-meter race will begin at 12:15 p.m.

Eugene-Springfield is one of nine host sites across the nation that automatically advance the top two team finishers and top four individuals from non-qualifying teams to the NCAA Championships, scheduled for Monday, November 19 at Indiana State University's LaVern Gibson Championship Course in Terre Haute, Ind.

Another 13 at-large teams and two at-large individuals will be added from across the nation to the 31-team, 255-runner M&W NCAA fields on the evening of Sun., Nov. 11. At-large team selection criteria is based on teams' head-to-head records against other actual and potential NCAA qualifiers.

Cardinal MenThe eighth-ranked Stanford men, who took fourth last year at the NCAAChampionships, will look to regain the West Regional title after having its streak of 10 consecutive victories snapped by Arizona in 2005. The program boasts four NCAA team titles and nine of the last eleven Pac-10 championships. The Cardinal will be led by three-time cross country All-American Neftalem Araia, as well as All-Americans Russell Brown, Hakon DeVries, Michael Garcia, Garrett Heath, and Hari Mix. Stanford will enjoy another deep roster in 2007, strengthened by returners Steven Duplinsky, Jacob Evans, Eric Giddings, Alex Greenburg, Lauren Jespersen, Elliot Luscombe, Justin Marpole-Bird, John McGuire, Chris Mocko, Justin Reed, and Wes Walker, as well as talented newcomers Brendan Gregg, Thomas Gruenewald, Elliot Heath, Jacob Riley, and JT Sullivan.

Cardinal WomenDefending back-to-back national champion and top-ranked Stanford will belooking for its ninth straight regional title. The Cardinal women have won the last eight regional team crowns (1999-present), and the last school to win the team title besides Stanford was Arizona in 1998. Among top women's individuals to watch, Stanford senior Arianna Lambie - the Pac-10 and West Regional champion in 2005 and `06 - is one of only two women to ever Pac-10 and West Regional times in consecutive seasons and joined former NCAA champion Amy Skieresz who won four titles in each race from 1995-98. Lambie was a top-10 NCAA Championships placer in 2005 (eighth) and '06 (fourth), and is one of five All-Americans back in '07 with her two teammates - senior Teresa McWalters (31st in '06) and junior Lindsay Flacks (25th in '05). In his second season last year, head coach Peter Tegen led the squad to victories in six out of seven races, including successfully defending their national title in Terre Haute, IN. The Cardinal returns All-Americans Arianna Lambie, Teresa McWalters, Lindsay Flacks, and Lauren Centrowitz. Returners Lindsay Allen, Shannon Bergstedt, Alicia Follmar, Katie Harrington, Mary Liz McCurdy, Kate Niehaus, Madeleine O'Meara, Kaylin Pennington, Anne St. Geme, and Kelsey Walker will bolster the talented squad, as well as newcomers Madeline Duhon, Alexandra Gits, Stephanie Marcy, and Anna Schuessler.

The men's team will look to regain the regional crown after this Saturday.

Last Time OutPac-10 ChampionshipsThe No. 15 Stanford men ran to a second place finish this morning at the Pac-10 Cross Country championships in Corvallis, Ore. The Cardinal scored a total of 55 points, while No. 1 Oregon captured the team title with 39 points. No. 8 Cal rounded out the top three as they recorded 70 points.

The No. 1 Cardinal women captured their 12th straight Pac-10 title as they scored 48 team points for the victory. Oregon claimed a second place finish as they scored 64 points, while Arizona State earned third with 68 points.

Looking AheadStanford will be back in action on Monday, November 19 as they head to Terre Haute, Ind. for the 2007 NCAA Championship.

Pac-12 Networks TV
On Pac-12 Networks Now
9:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Oregon
  • Pac-12 Washington
  • Pac-12 Mountain
  • Pac-12 Arizona
  • Pac-12 Network