Stanford Takes Three Of Top Eight Spots In 3-Meter At Purdue Invitational

Nov. 16, 2007

West Lafayette, Ind. - Three Stanford divers finaled on the 3-meter boards Thursday on the first day of the Purdue Invitational at the Boilermaker Aquatic Center. Meg Hostage was the top Stanford diver with a second place finish. Katie Lampe and Shana Karp also made it to the evening session, finishing fourth and eighth, respectively. Missouri's Kendra Melnychuk was a comfortable winner with 317.90 points in the finals with Hostage (300.00) her closest competitor. Lampe checked with 274.30 points, while Karp had 249.20.

Hallie Ivester (13th, 227.95), Sarah Ohr (16th, 225.25) and Carmen Stellar (20th, 211.65) also competed in the prelims for the Cardinal.

'It is still early,' said Stanford head coach Dr. Rick Schavone. 'They dived relatively well for this time of the year and their placements were fine. Having three divers in the final is good, but we are still miles away from where we have to be.'

Stanford will continue action at the Purdue Invitational on Saturday (1-meter) and Sunday (platform). Prelims begin each day at 10 am, ET/7 am, PT. Saturday's finals start at 6 pm, ET/3 pm, PT, while Sunday's finals begin at 4 pm, ET/1 pm, PT.

Now on Pac-12 Network
8:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Unable to get Pac-12 Network?
Contact your provider ▶
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder