Pac-10 Baseball Coaches Pick Arizona to Capture Conference Title

Feb. 12, 2008

Complete Release in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. -- According to a vote of the league's coaches, ARIZONA has been chosen to win this year's Pac-10 baseball title.

The Wildcats received six of nine first-place votes, earning 61 points overall. Last year's top pick, ARIZONA STATE, received three first-place votes and 56 points overall for this year's No. 2 spot, while UCLA was picked third with a total of 51 points.

Arizona, also tops the Collegiate Baseball's preseason Top-40 and is ranked second in Baseball America's preseason Top-25. Last season the Wildcats finished at 42-17 overall, including a 15-9 mark in Conference play. Arizona continued on to the postseason along with Arizona State, Oregon State and UCLA. The 2007 season marks the 11th consecutive season the Pac-10 had qualified at least four of its nine teams for the NCAA Tournament.

Arizona State earned the outright league title during the 2007 season and went on to make an appearance in the NCAA College World Series in Omaha, Nebraska. But it was Oregon State, although seeded in the lower half of the original NCAA Tournament field, that went on to win its second consecutive College World Series title. The Pacific-10 Conference has produced a College World Series participant each year since 1997 and the Beaver's trip marked the 57th year that the Pac-10 has sent at least one team to Omaha.

The 2008 Conference baseball season gets underway Thurs., March 20, when USC hosts Arizona.

Results of the poll are as follows. Eight points are awarded for a first-place vote, seven points for a second-place vote, and so on. Coaches are not allowed to vote for their own team.

		School (First Place Votes)	Points	1.	Arizona (6)                       61	2. 	Arizona State (3)	          56	3. 	UCLA	                          51	4. 	Oregon State	                  44	5. 	California	                  32	6.    	Stanford	                  30	7. 	USC	                          23	8. 	Washington State         	  18	9. 	Washington	                   9
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder