Lauren Lacey Named Pac-10 Player of the Week

Feb. 25, 2008

TEMPE, Ariz. - Arizona State junior forward Lauren Lacey was named the Pac-10 Women's Basketball Player of the Week according to an announcement by Pac-10 Commissioner Tom Hansen on Monday.

Lacey averaged 18.5 points, 7.5 rebounds, 1.5 assists and 1.5 steals while connecting on nearly 73 percent (16-22) of her field goal attempts in ASU's wins over Washington State on Thursday and Washington on Sunday.

In Thursday's 59-30 win against Washington State, Lacey scored 12 points (5-9 FGs) while recording four rebounds, one assist and one steal in addition to helping the Sun Devils limit the Cougars to the fewest points ever scored in a Pac-10 game (30).

On Sunday against Washington, Lacey turned in a brilliant performance, recording career-best marks in field goals (11), points (25) and rebounds (11) in helping the Sun Devils defeat the Huskies 69-53. Fourteen of Lacey's points came in the first 20 minutes as the Sun Devils took a 38-23 lead at the half. The 11 field goals and 25 points are the most by a Sun Devil in both categories this season. Lacey now has three of the four highest single-game point totals by a Sun Devil this season. She also had 23 points at Oregon (Jan. 3) and 21 points vs. Oregon State (Jan. 31).

Lacey currently leads ASU in scoring and is eighth in the Pac-10, averaging 12.9 points per game. She is also sixth in the conference in field goal percentage (.498) and 12th in rebounding (6.0 rpg).

ASU (18-9, 12-4 Pac-10) closes out the 2007-08 regular season this week when it travels to Los Angeles to take on UCLA (Thurs., 7 p.m. PT/8 p.m. MT) and USC (Sat., 11 a.m. PT/noon MT). The latter contest against the Women of Troy will be televised live by Fox Sports Net.

Categories:
Now on Pac-12 Network
6:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Unable to get Pac-12 Network?
Contact your provider ▶
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder
Close