Stanford Impressive On Day 1 Of The MPSF Championships

Feb. 29, 2008

Complete Results

  • Stanford Men's Indoor Records Get Acrobat Reader

  • Stanford Women's Indoor Records Get Acrobat Reader


    The Stanford men's and women's track & field teams got off to an excellent start on day one of the MPSF Championships in Seattle, Wash. The women are currently second after seven events scored with 64 points. Arizona State is the day one leader with 78 points. On the men's side, Stanford is currently seventh with 15 points after five events scored. Washington currently leads with 31 points, but there are just 20 points separating first through tenth.

    The women were led by some outstanding performances in the distances. The Stanford distance medley relay team of Lauren Centrowitz, Idara Otu, Alicia Follmar, and Arianna Lambie ran a national automatic time of 11:08.56 to win the MSPF title. The time moves them into seventh on the all-time indoor list at Stanford.

    Also with an event win in the distances was Alexandra Gits with a provisional time of 16:29.14 in the 5,000 meters. Just behind her was teammate Katie Harrington with a provisional time of 16:30.79 to finish second. The times for Gits and Harrington move them into ninth and tenth all-time indoors for Stanford. Also placing for Stanford was Kate Niehaus who finished eighth with a time of 17:05.31.

    Lauren Stewart recorded a career best in the pentathlon with a score of 3,924 points to take the MPSF Championship for Stanford. Finishing in third was Whitney Liehr with a collegiate best and provisional score of 3,743 points. Also with a season best in the event was Kara Bennett who finished seventh with a score of 3,344 points.

    In the long jump, Stanford demonstrated their depth by placing five jumpers in the top eight. Arantxa King led the Cardinal, tying for second with jump of 21-0 ¾ to improve her automatic standard. Erica McLain finished fourth with a jump of 21-0 1/2, also an automatic standard, but short of her season best. Sabrina Nettey was sixth with a provisional jump of 20-5. Finishing seventh and eighth with season best jumps were Brittni Dixon-Smith with a jump of 20-1 ¾ and Griffin Matthew with a jump of 19-11.

    Other personal bests on the day included Caitlin Hewitt in the pole vault with a mark of 12-7 ¼ and Melissa Yunghans in the weight throw with a toss of 55-9 ¾. The toss for Yunghans moved her into sixth place on the Stanford all-time list.

    The men were led by an impressive distance medley relay that destroyed the Dempsey Indoor track record and MPSF meet record with a national automatic time of 9:31.52. The team of Hakon DeVries, Andrew Dargie, Jacob Evans, and Garrett Heath also moved into fifth on the all-time Stanford list indoors in taking home the MPSF title.

    Myles Bradley smashed his own all-time Stanford indoor record by running a national provisional time of 7.78 seconds in the prelims of the 60 meter hurdles. The time gives Bradley the top seed going into tomorrow's final round. The old record of 7.90 seconds was set earlier this season by Bradley. Bradley also came back to run his collegiate best time of 6.93 seconds in the 60 meter dash, but did not advance to the final.

    Kyle Davis-Hammerquist set a new personal best in the weight throw with a toss of 61-4 to finish fifth. The toss moved him up to sixth on Stanford's all-time list.

    In the 5,000 meters Hari Mix ran time of 14:17.07 to finish eighth.

    In the heptathlon, Josh Hustedt impressed after the first four events. Included in his day was his collegiate best in the long jump with a mark of 24-8 ½, a provisional mark. Hustedt has put himself in position to compete for the MPSF title tomorrow in the final four events.

    Other season bests for Stanford came from Benjamin Otto in the long jump with a leap of 23-3 ½, Daniel Belch in the 200 meters with a time of 22.25 seconds, and in the 5,000 meters, Chris Mocko with a time of 14:27.46 and Jake Riley with a time of 14:28.86.

    Stanford will be back on the track tomorrow for the conclusion of the MPSF Championships.

  • Now on Pac-12 Network
    3:30 PM PT

    Airing on:

    • Pac-12 Network
    Get Pac-12 Networks
    Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder