Boise State Runs Away With Conference Title

March 3, 2008

Eugene, Ore.- Boise State rode a dominating first day performance to an easy victory Monday night at McArthur Court, claiming the Pac-10 tournament title with a team score of 152.5, 46 points more than second place Stanford.

The team title was never in doubt for Boise State, who entered the day with six competitors in the finals, winning two of those matches. It is the first conference title since 2004 for the Broncos, who finished ninth at last season's Pac-10 tournament.

Cory Fish overcame crowd favorite No. 4 Ryan Dunn of Oregon for a 3-1 decision in the final at 133. 'Ryan (Dunn) wrestles with great intensity, so I tried to match it,' said Fish.'My crowd support was great, but his was really loud too, especially since we're in Eugene, so I wanted to try and not let them get too excited.'

No. 1 Nathan Lee defeated UC Davis' Tyler Bernacchi at 174 for the Broncos other individual title.

The Broncos four second-place finishes led all schools. They also claimed victories in all three third place matches they competed in, for a total of nine grapplers in the top three of their respective weight classes.

The scoring was tight in the middle, with only 12 points separating positions two through seven. Stanford (106.5) climbed from sixth place after the first day to barely edge defending champion Oregon State (106.0) for second place. Arizona State (103.0) finished fourth, Cal State-Fullerton (101.5) fifth, Cal Poly (99.5) sixth, and Cal-State Bakersfield (94.5) seventh.

UC Davis (79.5) finished in eighth place, host Oregon (59.0) was ninth, and Portland State (16.0) finished tenth to round out the team scoring.

Oregon State, Arizona State, and Cal Poly all equaled Boise State with two individual titles, while Cal State-Fullerton and Stanford each had one.

The Beavers closed the tournament strong, winning at both the 197 pound division and the heavyweight division. Kyle Bressler knocked off No. 1 seed Jason Trulson of Arizona State with a 3-1 decision in the 197 pound final, and Travis Gardner defeated Cal-State Bakersfield's Mitchell Monteiro 4-2 for the heavyweight title. Gardner was named the tournaments most outstanding wrestler for his performance.

At 165, Arizona State's top-seeded Patrick Pitsch defeated No. 2 Kurt Swartz of Boise State for his third straight Pac-10 title. Brent Chriswell, seeded third, upset No. 1 Kirk Smith at 184 with a 10-7 decision for the Sun Devils other title, but Arizona State fell two spots to fourth after holding second place at the conclusion of Sunday's play.

Stanford senior Tanner Gardner opened the evening session by defending his title at 125 pounds with a 7-6 decision over Arizona State freshman Anthony Robles for the Cardinal's only title. Gardner was one of five No. 1 seeds to win.

The top three at each weight plus nine wildcards advance to the NCAA Championships in St. Louis, Mo. on Mar. 20-22. The following are the 39 representatives from the Pac-10 that will compete in the NCAA Championships:

Wt 125
1 Tanner Gardner (Stanford University)
2 Anthony Robles (Arizona State University)
3 Brandon Zoetewey (Cal State-Bakersfield)
4 Marcos Orozco (UC Davis)

Wt 133
1 Cory Fish (Boise State University)
2 Ryan Dunn (University of Oregon)
3 Borislav Novachkov (Cal Poly)
4 Tyler Dillashaw (Cal State-Fullerton)

Wt 141
1 Chad Mendes (Cal Poly)
2 Chris Drouin (Arizona State University)
3 Levi Jones (Boise State University)
4 Nexi Delgado (UC Davis)

Wt 149
1 Morgan Atkinson (Cal State-Fullerton)
2 Adam Hall (Boise State University)
3 Kyle Larson (Oregon State University)
4 Lucas Espericueta (Stanford University)

Wt 157
1 Chase Pami (Cal Poly)
2 Tyler Sherfey (Boise State University)
3 Josh Zupancic (Stanford University)

Wt 165
1 Patrick Pitsch (Arizona State University)
2 Kurt Swartz (Boise State University)
3 Daniel Atondo (Cal State-Bakersfield)

Wt 174
1 Nathan Lee (Boise State University)
2 Tyler Bernacchi (UC Davis)
3 Luke Feist (Stanford University)

Wt 184
1 Brent Chriswell (Arizona State University)
2 Kirk Smith (Boise State University)
3 Ian Murphy (Cal State-Fullerton)
4 Zack Giesen (Stanford University)

Wt 197
1 Kyle Bressler (Oregon State University)
2 Jason Trulson (Arizona State University)
3 Matt Casperson (Boise State University)
4 Riley Orozco (Cal-State Bakersfield)
5 John Drake (Cal-State Fullerton)

Wt 285
1 Travis Gardner (Oregon State University)
2 Mitchell Monteiro (Cal State-Bakersfield)
3 Nick Smith (Boise State University)
4 Charlie Alexander (University of Oregon)

Now on Pac-12 Network
5:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder