Kevin Love Nominated for Oscar Robertson Trophy

March 5, 2008

ST. LOUIS - The U.S. Basketball Writers Association has announced nominees for the 2007-08 Oscar Robertson Trophy and Henry Iba Award.

From the list of nominees, finalists for each award will be announced later this month and the presentation of both awards will take place at the USBWA's annual awards breakfast at Sunset Station in conjunction with the Men's Final Four in San Antonio. Each award is voted on by the entire membership of the association, which consists of nearly 800 journalists.

The following players have been nominated for the Oscar Robertson Trophy: D.J. Augustin (Texas); Michael Beasley (Kansas State); Chris Douglas- Roberts (Memphis); Shan Foster (Vanderbilt); Tyler Hansbrough (North Carolina); Luke Harangody (Notre Dame); Robbie Hummel (Purdue); Kevin Love (UCLA); A.J. Price (Connecticut); D.J. White (Indiana).

The following coaches have been nominated for the Henry Iba Award: Rick Barnes (Texas); Keno Davis (Drake); John Calipari (Memphis); Mike Krzyzewski (Duke); Lon Kruger (UNLV); Sean Miller (Xavier); Matt Painter (Purdue); Bruce Pearl (Tennessee); Rick Pitino (Louisville); Bo Ryan (Wisconsin); Herb Sendek (Arizona State); Kevin Stallings (Vanderbilt).

The Oscar Robertson Trophy is awarded to the USBWA's Player of the Year. It is the nation's oldest award and the only one named after a former player. The legendary Oscar Robertson was the USBWA's first player of the year in 1959. The USBWA renamed its player of the year award the Oscar Robertson Trophy in 1998.

The Henry Iba Award has also been presented since 1959. It is named for the legendary Oklahoma State coach.

The U.S. Basketball Writers Association was formed in 1956 at the urging of then-NCAA Executive Director Walter Byers. Today, it is one of the most influential organizations in college basketball.

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder