Brett Wallace Named Pac-10 Player of the Year For Second Straight Season

May 29, 2008

TEMPE, Ariz. - Arizona State junior third baseman Brett Wallace has been named the Pac-10 Conference Player of the Year, the second straight year he has won the award.. Wallace becomes the 13h Sun Devil to earn the honor, and the second ever to win the award in back-to-back seasons. Casey Myers won the award in 2000 and 2001.

Wallace (Sonoma, Calif.) currently leads the Pac-10 in batting average (.412 RBI (78) and home runs (20) and led Arizona State to their second straight Pac-10 championship.

Wallace is one of the many great former Sun Devils to earn the award. Former Pac-10 Player of the Year Sun Devils include Mike Sodders (1981), Alvin Davis (1982), Oddibe McDowell (1984), Linty Ingram (1988), Paul Lo Duca (1993), Jacob Cruz (1994), Willie Bloomquist (1999) and Casey Myers (2000 & 2001).

Now on Pac-12 Network
2:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder