Walshe Named Scholar-Athlete of the Year

May 28, 2008

University of Arizona student-athlete Alison Walshe was named the Pacific-10 Conference women's golf Scholar-Athlete of the Year, presented by Toyo Tires, the league announced Wednesday.

Walshe, a senior from Westford, Mass., was one of 10 student-athletes honored by the Pac-10 for spring sport participation. She carried a 3.51 grade point average in interdisciplinary studies. The other honorees are as follows.

Russell Brown, Stanford - Men's Track and Field, 3.44 - political science
Mathieu Dehaine, UCLA - Men's Tennis, 3.81 - business-economics/math & applied science
Rob Grube, Stanford - Men's Golf, 3.20 - political science and history
April Kubishta, Arizona State - Women's Track and Field, 4.00 - mathematics
Jayson Miller, Washington State - Baseball, 3.69 - accounting
Kaylie Towne, Oregon State - Women's Rowing, 3.75 - science
Jackie Vasquez, Arizona State - Softball, 3.65 - special education
Justin Wagner, Oregon State - Men's Rowing, 3.97 - biology
Riza Zalameda, UCLA - Women's Tennis, 3.40 - anthropology

A first-team All-American and an all-Pac-10 performer, Walshe led the Wildcats with a 72.50 stroke average this season, while 14 of her 34 rounds played were at par or better. Walshe finished 2007-08 as the eighth-rated golfer nationally in the Golfweek/Sagarin Performance Index and posted three individual wins in 11 starts to go with eight top-10 finishes. She had seven rounds in the 60s with a low of 66 this year and was Arizona's top finisher in eight of those 11 tournament appearances.

In order to be eligible for the Pac-10 Scholar-Athlete of the Year award, student-athletes must be a senior (in athletics eligibility) on track to receive a degree, have a cumulative grade point average of 3.0 or higher, participate in at least 50% of the scheduled contests in the sport and have a minimum of one year in residence at the institution.

The Scholar-Athletes of the Year in each sport will receive a commemorative award. Toyo Tires will donate $1,000 to the scholarship funds of the institution's athletic department of each winner in recognition of their accomplishments.

'The Pac-10 joins Toyo in recognizing these student-athletes during the 2007-08 academic year,' said Tom Hansen, Commissioner of the Pac-10. 'To be selected as the best student-athlete in any sport in the Pac-10 is a very special honor, and these are special young people, in academics as well as athletics. We are very appreciative that Toyo is helping them gain the recognition they deserve for their unique achievements.'

Walshe was the fourth University of Arizona student-athlete to earn Scholar-Athlete-of-the-Year honors from the Pac-10 and Toyo Tires, joining Spencer Larsen (football), Lacey Nymeyer (women's swimming) and Karin Wurm (gymnastics).