ITA Names 14 Pac-10 Tennis Players to All-American Teams

May 30, 2008

Complete Release in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

WALNUT CREEK - Eleven Pac-10 women and three men were named to the 2008 Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA) All-America Teams for Division I Tennis as announced today.

UCLA's Riza Zalameda and Tracy Lin, who captured the 2008 NCAA Doubles Championship, highlight the list for the women while the Men's Doubles Champion pair of Robert Farah and Kaes Van't Hof were also named to the team.

Alex Clayton of STANFORD, the 2008 ITA National Rookie of the Year and highest ranked Pac-10 man (No. 8) joins the USC pair on the list after a stellar year in which he complied a 30-9 record and advanced to the semifinals of the 2008 Men's Singles Championship, falling to eventual national champion Sondev Dewarman of Virginia.

Joining Lin and Zalameda on the women's side are four of CALIFORNIA's national runner-up team, including seniors Susie Babos and Stephanie Kusano along with junior Claire Ilcinkas and freshman Marina Cossou. The Golden Bears were defeated, 4-0, by the UCLA Bruins in the National Championship match.

Stanford placed three on the team led by No. 4 ranked Hilary Barte, who compiled a 30-8 overall mark and was named 2008 ITA National Rookie of the Year as only a freshman. Joining her were teammates Lindsay Burdette and Jessica Nguyen.

USC joined UCLA with two All-Americans, No. 5 ranked Amanda Fink and Gabriela Niculescu. Fink finished runner-up to Zalameda for the Pac-10 title in 2008 and also advanced to the quarterfinals of the NCAA Tournament. As a pair, Fink and Niculescu won the 2008 Pac-10 Doubles title before being dropped in the quarterfinals of the NCAA Tournament.

A player must meet any of the following criteria to earn ITA All-America honors:Singles1.) Top 16 seed in NCAA Singles Championships, or;2.) Reach round of 16 in NCAA Singles Championships, or;3.) Finish in the Top 20 of the final ITA Rankings.Doubles1.) Top eight seed in NCAA Doubles Championships, or;2.) Reach quarterfinals of NCAA Doubles Championship, or;3.) Finish in Top 10 of final ITA Rankings

The ITA National Players of the Year and ITA National Doubles Teams of the Year will be announced next week.

2008 Division I ITA All-American Teams (S - Singles; D - Doubles)

Division I Men's Tennis

Jean-Yves Aubone Florida State (S)
Bassam Beidas Pepperdine (S)
Andre Begemann Pepperdine (S)
Jonas Berg Mississippi (D)
Ivan Bjelica Mississippi St. (S)
Arnau Brugues Tulsa (S)
Alex Clayton Stanford (S)
Andy Connelly Tulsa (D)
Ed Corrie Texas (D)
Ross Cunningham Tulsa (D)
Kellen Damico Texas (D)
Somdev Devvarman Virginia (S, D)
Drew Eberly Ohio State (D)
Robert Farah USC (S, D)
Boris Fetbroyt Maryland (D)
Taylor Fogleman North Carolina (D)
Steven Forman Wake Forest (D)
Travis Helgeson Georgia (S)
Kaden Hensel Tennessee (D)
Treat Huey Virginia (D)
Dominic Inglot Virginia (S)
Chris Kearney North Carolina (D)
Bryan Koniecko Ohio State (S, D)
Austin Krajicek Texas A&M (D)
Justin Kronauge Ohio State (S, D)
Dimitar Kutrovsky Texas (S)
Denes Lukacs Baylor (S)
Steven Moneke Ohio State (S, D)
Oleksandr Nedovyesov Oklahoma St. (S)
Enrique Olivares East Tennessee (S)
Andy Orban Maryland (D)
Greg Ouellette Florida (S)
Cory Parr Wake Forest (D)
Lars Poerschke Baylor (S)
Conor Pollock Texas A&M (D)
Bruno Rosa Rice (S)
Nate Schnugg Georgia (S)
J.P. Smith Tennessee (S, D)
Carl Sundberg Miami (Fla.) (D)
Bram ten Berge Mississippi (D)
Erling Tveit Mississippi (S, D)
Daniel Vallverdu Miami (Fla.) (S, D)
Kaes Van't Hof USC (D)
Matthias Wellermann Mississippi (D)

Division I Women's Tennis

Megan Alexander Florida (D)
Susie Babos California (D)
Hilary Barte Stanford (S,D)
Marrit Boonstra Florida (D)
Lenka Broosova Baylor (S, D)
Brook Buck Notre Dame (D)
Lindsay Burdette Stanford (D)
Fani Chifchieva Auburn (S)
Marina Cossou California (S)
Megan Falcon LSU (S)
Amanda Fink USC (S, D)
Melanie Gloria Fresno State (S, D)
Amanda Granson Duke (D)
Alex Haney Auburn (D)
Claire Ilcinkas California (S)
Melissa Koning Auburn (D)
Renata Kucerkova Fresno State (D)
Stephanie Kusano California (D)
Tracy Lin UCLA (S, D)
Melissa Mang Duke (D)
Sanaz Marand North Carolina (S)
Amanda McDowell Georgia Tech (S)
Ani Mijacika Clemson (S, D)
Kristi Miller Georgia Tech (S)
Aurelija Miseviciute Arkansas (S)
Maria Mosolova Northwestern (S)
Megan Moulton-Levy William & Mary (S, D)
Jessica Nguyen Stanford (S)
Anastasia Petukhova Fresno State (S)
Georgia Rose Northwestern (S)
Tinesta Rowe Fresno State (D)
Carol Salge Clemson (D)
Amanda Taylor Vanderbilt (S)
Kelcy Tefft Notre Dame (D)
Laura Vallverdu Miami (Fla.) (S)
Riza Zalameda UCLA (S, D)
Zuzana Zemenova Baylor (S, D)
Katrina Zheltova Sacramento St. (S)
Katarina Zoricic William & Mary (D)
Reka Zsilinszka Duke (S)
Now on Pac-12 Network
7:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder