Chappell Wins Jack Nicklaus Award as the College Player of the Year

June 2, 2008

UCLA's Kevin Chappell enjoyed an award-winning day on Monday, highlighted by the announcement that he was named the Jack Nicklaus award winner as the College Player of the Year.

A day after winning the NCAA championship, he traveled to Columbus, OH, to receive the Nicklaus Award, annually given to the best player in collegiate golf. He became the first UCLA golfer since Duffy Waldorf in 1985 to win player of the year honors.

Chappell also earned five other honors on June 2.

On Monday, he was named the Arnold Palmer Award recipient for winning the NCAA individual championship. He posted rounds of 69-73-68-76--286 (-2) and was the only golfer in the 156-player field to finish the tournament under par. He is the first UCLA golfer to win the NCAA individual title.

Also, the Golf Coaches Assn. announced its 2008 Division I All-America team and Chappell was named to the first team. He earned second team honors in 2007 and honorable mention acclaim in 2006.

Chappell was also named the National Amateur of the Month by the Southern Golf Assn., one of America's oldest amateur clubs.

For the third time this season, the Pacific-10 Conference named Chappell its Golfer of the Month. He previously won this recognition in November and February. The Pac-10 also named Chappell its 2008 Golfer of the Year in April.

Finally, Chappell was named UCLA's Player of the Week for May 27-June1. He had previously earned this honor in January.

Chappell ended the 2008 season 19-under par over 34 rounds and set a UCLA single season scoring record at 71.0. He won twice as a senior, raising his career victories total to five. In January, he set the UCLA 54-hole record of 15-under par when he won the PING/Arizona Intercollegiate with scores of 67-67-64--198.

Now on Pac-12 Network
11:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder