38 Stanford Track & Field Athletes Named Academic All-Pac-10

June 3, 2008

Walnut Creek, Calif.- A total of 38 Stanford track and field athletes were honored on Monday when the Pac-10 All-Academic Teams were announced by commissioner Tom Hansen. The honorees included four men and two women on the Pac-10 All-Academic First Teams.

In order to be eligible for the Pac-10 Scholar-Athlete of the Year award, student-athletes must be a senior (in athletics eligibility) on track to receive a degree, have a cumulative grade point average of 3.0 or higher, participate in at least 50% of the scheduled contests in the sport and have a minimum of one year in residence at the institution.

The men's first teamers included middle-distance runners Russell Brown and Garrett Heath, as well as pole vaulters Benjamin Dickens and Graeme Hoste.

Both Brown and Heath will be competing in the 1,500 meters at the NCAA Championships beginning on June 11, after qualifying this past weekend at the NCAA West Regional. Heath was the Pac-10 and West Regional Champion in the event. Brown was named Toyo Tires Pac-10 Male Track Athlete of the Year last Wednesday. Heath is a management science and engineering major that carries a 3.79 GPA, while Brown has graduated with a degree in political science and us currently pursuing a master's degree in sociology. His combined GPA is 3.66.

Hoste finished as the Pac-10 runner-up in the pole vault, while Dickens finished 11th. Hoste holds a 3.66 GPA as an earth systems major, while Dickens has a 3.83 GPA as a management science and engineering major.

Claire Cormier Thielke

The first team members for the women included Claire Cormier Thielke and Kate Niehaus. Cormier Thielke carries a 3.92 GPA in urban studies. She ran a season best time of 2:34.08 in the 800 meters versus California at the Big Meet. Niehaus' major is undeclared and she carries a 4.08 GPA. She ran a season best time of 16:47.96 in the 5,000 meters at the Stanford Invitational.

First Team All-Academic

Russell Brown
Benjamin Dickens
Garrett Heath
Graeme Hoste

Second Team All-Academic
Neftalem Araia
Josh Hustedt
Chris Mocko
Hari Mix
Justin Reed

Honorable Mention All-Academic
Daniel Belch
Myles Bradley
Durell Coleman
Jacob Evans
J.J Jackson
Oluwadare Kolawole
Mike Macellari
Justin Marpole-Bird
Tyrone McGraw

First Team All-Academic

Claire Cormier Thielke
Kate Niehaus

Second Team All-Academic
Lindsay Allen
Kara Bennett
Caitlin Hewitt
Laura Mottaz

Honorable Mention All-Academic
Deborah Akinniyi
Lauren Centrowitz
Tessa Flippin
Alicia Follmar
Jaynie Goodbody
Katie Harrington
Danielle Maier
Griffin Matthew
Erica McLain
Teresa McWalters
Idara Otu
Lauren Stewart
Michaela Wallerstedt
Melissa Yunghans

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder