Allen, Morrison Named Pac-10 Conference Medal Winners

June 4, 2008

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - University of Washington rower Heath Allen and volleyball standout Christal Morrison were among the recipients of the 2007-08 Pacific-10 Conference Medal league commissioner Tom Hansen announced.

A Conference Medal is awarded annually to each member institution's outstanding senior male and female student-athlete based on the exhibition of the greatest combination of performance and achievement in scholarship, athletics and leadership.

The Conference Medal winners will be honored at the State Farm Pride of the Pac-10 Luncheon held in Los Angeles in conjunction with the Pac-10 Men's Basketball Tournament next March.

Heath Allen and the UW varsity eight have a lasting legacy of success.

Allen, a native of Durango, Colo., is a member of the UW's varsity eight crew that has won 16-straight races and ranks number one in the nation. He rowed in the seven seat for the varsity eight crew that won the IRA nationaltitle last season. He also represented UW at the Moscow Race of Champions in September, defeating Oxford, Cambridge, and Moscow State University to win the Challenge Cup.

Morrison, a native of Puyallup, Wash., completed her career at Washington last fall as the school's all-time leader in kills (1,859), attacks (4,726) and points (2,188.0) and is easily the most decorated Husky volleyball player ever. A first team AVCA All-America selection as a senior, she became the only UW player to earn All-America honors in four-straight seasons.

2007-08 Pacific-10 Conference Medal Winners
Arizona: Albert Subarits, Swimming; Lacey Nymeyer, Swimming
Arizona State: Kyle Alcorn, Track & Field; Jacquelyn Johnson, Track & Field
California: Tim McNeill, Gymnastics; Angie Pressey, Volleyball
Oregon: Dennis Dixon, Football; Jen May, Lacrosse
Oregon State: Alexis Serna, Football; Yuki Lamb, Gymnastics
Stanford: Tanner Gardner, Wrestling; Arianna Lambie, Track/Cross Country
UCLA: Christopher Joseph, Football; Lindsey Pluimer, Basketball
USC: Kaes Van't Hof, Tennis; Allison Jaskowiak Kennedy, Basketball
Washington: Heath Allen, Rowing; Christal Morrison, Volleyball
Washington State: Alex Brink, Football; Ekaterina Burdell, Tennis

Now on Pac-12 Network
4:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder