Dehaine, Srugo Named First-Team All-Pac-10

June 4, 2008

LOS ANGELES - UCLA senior men's tennis players Mathieu Dehaine and Harel Srugo earned first-team All-Pac-10 honors, while freshman Holden Seguso was named to the second team, as the conference released its year-end awards on Wednesday. The Bruins also had the most selections to the All-Pac-10 Academic First Team, as Dehaine, Jeremy Drean and Michael Look were all honored for their efforts in the classroom.

It is the first All-Pac-10 honor for Dehaine, who finished the season with a 28-8 overall singles record. He played at the Nos. 1-3 positions this season, going a combined 21-4 in dual-match play. He also partnered with Seguso at the No. 2 doubles spot, going 18-6. Dehaine was named the Pac-10 Scholar-Athlete of the Year for men's tennis last week.

Srugo, who was 15-7 at the No. 1 singles position in 2008, ended the year with a 23-10 overall record. He won the deciding point in UCLA's 4-3 victory over USC in the quarterfinals of the NCAA Team Championships. Srugo also teamed with Nick Meister at the No. 1 doubles position, going 14-10.

Seguso played mostly at the Nos. 2 and 3 singles positions in 2008, going 18-6 in dual-match play (20-7 overall).

All-Pac-10 Honors

First Team
Matt Brooklyn, So., ASU
Alex Clayton, Fr., STAN
Mathieu Dehaine, Sr., UCLA
Robert Farah, So., USC
Harel Srugo, Sr., UCLA
Kaes Van't Hof, Sr., USC

Second Team
Andres Arango, So., ASU
Claudio Christen, Sr., ARIZ
Patrik Fischer, Jr., WASH
Jaak Poldma, Fr., USC
Holden Seguso, Fr., UCLA
Kallim Stewart, Sr., CAL

Honorable Mention
Matt Bruch, Jr., STAN
Jeevan Nedunchezhiyan, Fr., WASH
Gary Sacks, So., USC
Marcos Verdasco, So., ORE
Richard Wire, So., STAN

Pac-10 Player of the Year
Alex Clayton, Fr., STAN

Pac-10 Doubles Team of the Year
Kaes Van't Hof, Sr., and Robert Farah, So., USC

Pac-10 Freshman/Newcomer of the Year
Alex Clayton, Fr., STAN

Pac-10 Coach of the Year
Lou Belken, ASU

All-Pac-10 Academic Teams

First Team
T.J. Bellama, Arizona State Jr. 3.76 Kinesiology
Mathieu Dehaine, UCLA** Sr. 3.81 Business-Economics & Mathematics/Applied Science
Jeremy Drean, UCLA** Sr. 3.81 Business-Economics & Political Science
Andy Kuharszky, Washington Sr. 3.56 Business Administration
Michael Look, UCLA* Jr. 3.87 Business-Economics
Jack Marsh, Arizona State So. 3.74 Kinesiology
Mike Myrhed, Oregon* Jr. 3.82 Business Administration
Kaes Van't Hof, USC Sr. 3.28 Business & Accounting
* - two-time first team honoree ** - three-time first team honoree

Second Team
Matt Brooklyn, Arizona State So. 3.37 Interdisciplinary Studies
Matt Bruch, Stanford Jr. 3.43 Economics
Geoff Chizever, California Sr. 3.42 Interdisciplinary Studies
Patrik Fischer, Washington Jr. 3.42 Business Administration
Blake Muller, Stanford Jr. 3.31 Communications
Kallim Stewart, California So. 3.44 Undeclared
Richard Wire, Stanford So. 3.55 Undeclared
Peter Zimmer, Arizona Jr. 3.47 Studio Art

Honorable Mention: Claudio Christen, Sr., ARIZ; David Chu, Jr., WASH; Alexander Cornelissen, So., ORE; Ravid Hazi,So., ARIZ; Phil Kao, Sr., STAN; Abdullah Magdas, Jr., USC; Wes Miller, Jr., ASU.

Now on Pac-12 Network
9:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder