Several Women's Tennis Players Earn All-Pac-10 Honors

June 4, 2008

LOS ANGELES - UCLA's Stella Sampras Webster and Riza Zalameda earned Pac-10 Coach of the Year and Player of the Year honors respectively on Wednesday, as the conference named its year-end award winners for women's tennis. Zalameda also earned Pac-10 Doubles Team of the Year honors with partner Tracy Lin, who was a second-team selection. Freshman Andrea Remynse (honorable mention) was also recognized.

In her 12th season as head coach, Sampras Webster guided UCLA to its first NCAA Championship in school history, as the Bruins defeated Cal, 4-0 in the final in Tulsa, Okla. on May 20. UCLA ended the season with a 24-5 overall record, marking the most wins by a Bruin team since 1982 (29-4). Sampras Webster also helped UCLA to its first-ever Pac-10 title in 2008, earning co-championship honors with Stanford, which also finished with a 7-1 mark in league play. Her overall coaching record stands at 210-103.

Zalameda, a senior, was a key player in the Bruins' NCAA Championship run, as she defeated Cal's Susie Babos, 3-6, 6-3, 6-2 to clinch the title for UCLA. Named the NCAA Tournament's Most Outstanding Player, Zalameda would go on to win the NCAA Doubles Championship with partner Tracy Lin. She would also reach the quarterfinals of the NCAA Singles draw. Prior to the NCAA Tournament, she won the Pac-10 Singles title with a 6-3, 6-4 victory over USC's Amanda Fink. One of just six four-time All-Americans in UCLA history, Zalameda ended the season with a 33-12 overall singles record.

UCLA also had four players on the All-Pac-10 Academic Team that was recently released. Elizabeth Lumpkin, Alex McGoodwin and Lin were all first-team selections. Zalameda was named to the second team.

2008 All-Pac-10 Honors

First Team
Nadia Abdala, So., ASU
Susie Babos, Sr., CAL
Hilary Barte, Fr. STAN
Marina Cossou, Fr., CAL
Amanda Fink, Sr., USC
Riza Zalameda, Sr., UCLA

Second Team
Venise Chan, Fr., WASH
Claire Ilcinkas, Jr., CAL
Tracy Lin, Sr., UCLA
Kelcy McKenna, Fr., ASU
Jessica Nguyen, Jr., STAN
Danielle Steinberg, Jr., ARIZ

Honorable Mention
Ekaterina Burduli, Sr., WSU
Celia Durkin, Sr., STAN
Stephanie Kusano, Sr., CAL
Lindsey Nelson, Sr., USC
Gabriela Niculescu, So., USC
Andrea Remynse, Fr., UCLA
Celine Rolly, Fr., ORE
Christina Visico, Sr., CAL

Pac-10 Player of the Year
Riza Zalameda, Sr., UCLA

Pac-10 Doubles Team of the Year
Riza Zalameda, Sr. & Tray Lin, Sr., UCLA

Pac-10 Freshman/Newcomer of the Year
Hilary Barte, Fr., STAN

Pac-10 Coach of the Year
Stella Sampras Webster, UCLA

2008 All-Pac-10 Academic Team

First Team
Whitney Deason, Stanford Sr. 3.86 Political Science
Celia Durkin, Stanford Sr. 4.00 German Studies
Claire Ilcinkas, California Jr. 3.63 Economics
Tracy Lin, UCLA* Sr. 3.72 Physiological Science
Elizabeth Lumpkin, UCLA* Sr. 3.83 Communication Studies
Alex McGoodwin, UCLA Sr. 3.91 Geography/Environmental Studies
Carmen Seremeta, Oregon* Jr. 3.75 Business Administration
Danielle Steinberg, Arizona* Jr. 3.88 Psychology
* - two-time first team honoree

Second Team
Susie Babos, California Sr. 3.43 Mass Communications
Ekaterina Burduli, Washington State Sr. 3.56 Psychology
Aleksandra Cekic, Washington State Jr. 3.49 Finance
Stephanie Kusano, California Sr. 3.39 Legal Studies
Ana Cecilia Olivos, Oregon Jr. 3.59 Business Administration
Alison Rainey, Washington Sr. 3.58 Political Science
Tara Simpson, Washington Sr. 3.60 Chemistry
Riza Zalameda, UCLA Sr. 3.40 Anthropology

Honorable Mention: Laila Abdala, ASU; Joyce Ardies, WASH; Bojana Bobusic, CAL; Lindsay Burdette, STAN; AmandaFink, USC; Claudia Hirt, ORE; Jessica Leitch, ASU; Aleksandra Malovic, WASH; Lindsey Nelson, USC; Jessica Nguyen,STAN; Gabriela Niculescu, USC; Katherine Orletsky, ARIZ; Wendy Pilecka, ASU; Bianca Selaru, WSU; AleksandraStefanova.

Now on Pac-12 Network
10:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
  • Pac-12 Sports Report: NBA Draft Special
    TOMORROW | 2:00pm PT

    Airing on:

    • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder