Huskies Announce 2008-09 Women's Hoops Schedule

July 25, 2008

SEATTLE -- Washington head coach Tia Jackson announced the 2008-09 schedule for the Husky women's basketball team, Friday, a slate that features eight teams that went to the postseason last year including NCAA Final Four squads Connecticut and Stanford.

The Huskies' non-conference schedule will be highlighted by a trip to the Caribbean Classic MTE in Cancun, Mexico (Dec. 18-21), where they will face two '08 NCAA tournament teams in national semifinalist UConn and Florida State (second round), along with Northern Colorado out of the Big Sky Conference. Non-conference home contests include matchups with a pair of WNIT teams from last year in Gonzaga and Boise State, along with the annual Husky Classic and another NCAA tourney squad in Kansas State.

The non-conference road schedule takes UW to Weber State and Pepperdine before the Cancun tournament. The always competitive Pac-10 schedule is highlighted with contests versus NCAA runner-up Stanford, as well as California and Arizona State which both advanced to the second round of the '08 NCAA tournament.

'We are excited about the schedule we have compiled for the 2008-09 season,' Jackson said. 'There is tremendous balance all around, which helps prepare us well for the Pac-10 season. We will face some heavy hitters from the Big East, ACC and Big 12, allowing us a chance to challenge ourselves early versus quality opponents. We have great opportunities awaiting us this season and it will be exciting to see how our ladies grow as the season progresses.'

Washington will play its season opener at home for the first time since 2004-05 when it entertains Northwest rival Gonzaga on Sunday, Nov. 16, at 2 p.m. at Bank of America Arena. After a road contest at Weber State on Wed., Nov. 19, the Huskies will be back at home to face Boise State (Sun., Nov. 23, 2 p.m.) before hosting the Husky Classic Nov. 28 and Nov. 30. UW will face Seattle University in the first round at 2 p.m., a contest preceded by Kent State versus Clemson on Friday. The consolation game will follow Sunday at 12 p.m. with the championship game slated for 2 p.m.

The Huskies will spend most of the month of December on the road, traveling to Southern California to face Pepperdine, Wed., Dec. 3 (7 p.m.) and then will head to Cancun Mexico for the Caribbean Classic MTE Dec. 18-21. UW will play three contests with Northern Colorado, Florida State and Connecticut before returning home for one last non-conference matchup with Kansas State, Tues., Dec. 30 (5 p.m.).

UW will open the Pac-10 schedule with a home game versus cross-state rival Washington State on Saturday, Jan. 3. Other home conference dates include Oregon (Jan. 15), Oregon State (Jan. 17), Arizona (Jan. 29), Arizona State (Jan. 31), California (Feb. 6), Stanford (Feb. 8), UCLA (Feb. 20) and USC (Feb. 22). The Pac-10 Tournament will take place at the Galen Center in Los Angeles, Calif., March 12-15.

The Huskies will also be hosting the first and second rounds of the 2009 NCAA Division I Women's Basketball Championship at Bank of America Arena, Saturday, March 21 and Monday, March 23.

Ticket information can be found by clicking here.

2008-09 Washington Women's Basketball Schedule
Tentative - Times and Dates Subject To Change
Times Local To Site

Sun., Nov. 16 vs. Gonzaga, 2 p.m.
Wed., Nov. 19 at Weber State, tba
Sun., Nov. 23 vs. Boise State, 2 p.m.
Fri., Nov. 28 - Kent State vs. Clemson (Husky Classic) 12 p.m.
Fri., Nov. 28 vs. Seattle University (Husky Classic), 2 p.m.
Sun., Nov. 30 - Consolation Game (Husky Classic), 12 p.m.
Sun., Nov. 30 - Championship Game, (Husky Classic) 2 p.m.
Wed., Dec. 3 at Pepperdine, 7 p.m.
Thur-Sun., Dec. 18-21 at Caribbean Classic MTE Cancun
Tues., Dec. 30 vs. Kanas State, 5 p.m.
Sat., Jan. 3 vs. Washington State, tba*
Thur., Jan. 8 at Stanford, tba*
Sat., Jan. 10 at California, tba*
Thur., Jan. 15 vs. Oregon, tba*
Sat., Jan. 17 vs. Oregon State, tba*
Thur., Jan. 22 at USC, tba*
Sat., Jan. 24 at UCLA, tba*
Thur., Jan. 29 vs. Arizona, tba*
Sat., Jan. 31 vs. Arizona State, tba*
Fri., Feb. 6 vs. California, tba*
Sun., Feb. 8 vs. Stanford, tba*
Fri., Feb. 13 at Oregon State, tba*
Sun., Feb. 15 at Oregon, tba*
Fri., Feb. 20 vs. UCLA, tba*
Sun., Feb. 22 vs. USC, tba*
Thur., Feb. 26 at Arizona State, tba*
Sat., Feb. 28 at Arizona, tba*
Fri., March 6 at Washington State, tba*

March 12-15, Pac-10 Tournament, Galen Center, Los Angeles, Calif.

March 21 and 23, NCAA First and Second Rounds, Bank of America Arena, Seattle, Wash.

* - indicates Pac-10 Conference Game
Homes games in bold played at Bank of America Arena

Categories:
Now on Pac-12 Network
3:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder
Close