Stanford Welcomes Cal For Annual Triple-Distance Meet

Nov. 10, 2008

  • Complete Release in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

    Stanford Hosts Cal In Triple-Distance Meet
    No. 3 Stanford will welcome No. 11 California to the Avery Aquatic Center for a non-traditional dual meet that will not count towards either school's season record. The meet will be a triple distance event, where the swimmers will swim in a single stroke at three different distances and add up their times to determine a winner. There will be six categories: sprint freestylers (50, 100, 200), distance freestylers (200, 500, 1,000), breaststrokers (50, 100, 200), backstrokers (50,100, 200), butterflyers (50, 100, 200), and individual medalists (100, 200, 400). In addition, the Stanford divers will make their season debut versus Cal in the 1-meter and 3-meter springboards. The meet will not be scored officially, but will showcase two of the top teams in the nation and their annual battle for Bay Area bragging rights.

    Stanford Defeats Washington in Pac-10 Opener
    The Cardinal men's swim team got their Pac-10 season off to a good start with a 134-70 win over Washington on October, 31 from the Avery Aquatic Center. Stanford improved to (2-0, 1-0 Pac-10) with the victory. The Cardinal were led by Jason Dunford, Paul Kornfeld and Alex Coville who were members of winning relay teams and each won an individual event.

    UOP Invite
    The Cardinal dominated their first Invite of the year when they scored 1,006.5 points to defeat second-place California (635 points) in Stockton, Calif. Stanford was led by Jason Dunford and Eugene Godsoe who both had a pair of individual event wins as well as a spot on a winning relay team. The Cardinal also got event wins from Nate Cass, David Mosko and Bobby Bollier.

    Postseason Streaks
    The Cardinal are owners of one of the most impressive streaks in NCAA history, a Pac-10 record for any sport, with 27 consecutive Pac-10 titles in swimming. The Cardinal also have an impressive streak going at the NCAA Championships where they have placed among the top-four teams for 27 consecutive years as well.

    Cardinal Champions
    Stanford brought home its share of hardware in 2007-08 season, including a pair of NCAA titles and four Pac-10 championships. Paul Kornfeld was the largest contributor for the Cardinal after winning the NCAA Championships in both the 100 and 200 breast. Kornfeld was also the Pac-10 Champion in both events. The other Pac-10 Champions for Stanford were Austin Staab in the 100 fly and Danny Beal in the 200 fly.

    Stanford Olympians
    The Stanford men's swimming team will feature three athletes who competed in the 2008 Olympic Games in Beijing, China. Jason Dunford represented his home country of Kenya in the 100 free and 100 fly. After being eliminated in the heats of the 100 free, Dunford advanced to the final of the 100 fly where he finished fifth. Dunford also briefly held the Olympic Record in the 100 fly when he swam a time of 51.47 seconds in the opening round. Jason's brother, David Dunford also competed for Kenya when he swam in the heats of the 50 free in Beijing. The younger Dunford won his opening heat, but failed to advance based on time. Finally, Phillip Morrison swam for his native Brazil in the 800 free relay, but did not advance through the heats.

    Coaching Experience
    The Stanford swimming and diving coaching staff is made up of some of the most experienced and accomplished coaches in the country. Head swimming coach, Skip Kenney is in his 29th season at Stanford. He owns an impressive dual meet record of 215-38 (.849) in addition to 27 straight Pac-10 titles and seven NCAA titles. Associate head coach, Ted Knapp is entering his 25th season at Stanford and has been instrumental in the success of the program. He is also coming off the summer of 2008 where he was the head men's manager to the 2008 U.S. Olympic men's swim team. Head diving coach, Rick Schavone, enters his 30th year on The Farm. Schavone, who coaches both the men's and women's divers, is a four-time NCAA coach of the year and has coached divers to 10 NCAA Championships.

  • Now on Pac-12 Network
    10:00 PM PT

    Airing on:

    • Pac-12 Network
    Get Pac-12 Networks
    Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder