Akinradewo, Dunning Repeat As Pac-10 Player, Coach Of The Year

Dec. 1, 2008

Stanford, Calif. - After clinching the Pac-10 Championship outright last week and earning the No. 2 overall seed in the NCAA Tournament, the Stanford women's volleyball team added a few more accolades to its list today when the annual Pac-10 awards were announced.

Stanford took two of the conference's three top awards with senior middle blocker Foluke Akinradewo repeating as Pac-10 Player of the Year and head coach John Dunning repeating as Pac-10 Coach of the Year. UCLA's Amanda Gil claimed the Pac-10 Freshman of the Year award.

Akinradewo joined sophomore Alix Klineman and senior Cynthia Barboza as repeat members of the 14-player All-Pac-10 Team. Sophomore Cassidy Lichtman earned honorable mention, picking up the first all-conference recognition of her career.

Akinradewo is just the fourth player in conference history to repeat as Pac-10 Player of the Year, joining UCLA's Daiva Tomkus (1988, 1989) and former Stanford standouts Kerri Walsh (1998, 1999) and Logan Tom (2001, 2002) as two-time recipients of the conference's highest honor. Akinradewo's selection marks the 13th time in the conference's 23-year history that the award has gone to a Stanford player.

A four-time All-Pac-10 selection, Akinradewo currently leads the Pac-10 with a .456 hitting percentage while ranking fourth nationally in the category. She also ranks second in the Pac-10 and third nationally in blocking (1.48 bps) while coming in sixth in the conference in points (4.12 pps). The middle blocker is the ninth player in school history to be named to the All-Pac-10 Team all four years.

Dunning becomes the first Stanford coach to repeat as Pac-10 Coach of the Year, and the third in conference history. He guided the Cardinal to its 12th Pac-10 title and the No. 2 NCAA seed with a 17-1 league record and a 26-3 overall mark. Dunning was honored for the third time in his eight years on The Farm, with his other awards coming in 2001 and 2007. He owns a career record of 671-138 (.829) in 24 seasons, including a record of 234-36 (.867) in his time at Stanford.

Klineman, the 2007 Pac-10 Freshman of the Year, nabbed a spot on the all-conference team for the second year in a row. She finished the regular season ranked sixth in the Pac-10 in kills (3.58 kps) and seventh in the conference in points (4.08 pps). Barboza was recognized as a member of the elite team for the third season in a row after turning in 3.54 kps (7th) and 4.02 ppg (8th).

As a setter/hitter, Lichtman registered nine double-doubles in the regular season, including four in conference matches. A key all-around player, she currently averages 1.34 kps, 8.90 aps, 2.33 dps and 0.59 bps.

Stanford begins postseason play at home on Friday, taking on America East Conference Champion Albany in the first round at 7 p.m. No. 24 Long Beach State and No. 23 Pepperdine will square off in the other first round match at Maples, with first serve set for 4:30 p.m. The winners will meet at 7 p.m. on Saturday for a trip to the Fort Collins Regional.

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder