Former Trojans Keyshawn Johnson And Virg Lubberden Named To Rose Bowl Hall Of Fame

Dec. 3, 2008

Former USC wide receiver Keyshawn Johnson, ex-USC athletic administrator Virgil 'Virg' Lubberden and former Michigan quarterback Chuck Ortmann will be inducted into the Rose Bowl Hall of Fame on Dec. 31, 2008, during a ceremony at the Rose Bowl Game Kickoff Luncheon presented by Trader Joe's, the Tournament of Roses announced today.

The Rose Bowl Hall of Fame was established in 1989 to honor members of the Rose Bowl Game family who have contributed to the history and excitement of the Rose Bowl Game, and those who embody the best of the passion, honor, strength and tradition associated with The Granddaddy of Them All.

Over the past 20 years, a total of 92 inductees have been added to the Rose Bowl Hall of Fame. These special individuals are honored by a permanent plaque with their name and year of induction at The Court of Champions at the Rose Bowl Stadium.

In USC's 41-32 shootout win against Northwestern in the 1996 Rose Bowl Game, Keyshawn Johnson was named Player of the Game and Most Valuable Player after pulling in 12 passes for 216 yards, including a 56-yard touchdown sprint. The 216 receiving yards is a Rose Bowl record that still stands and the 12 receptions is the second-highest single-game total in Rose Bowl Game history. This performance came against a Northwestern team that led the nation in scoring defense entering the game. Johnson is a two-time All-American and was the No. 1 pick in the 1996 NFL Draft for the New York Jets. He was a member of the Tampa Bay Super Bowl XXXVII Championship team and is a three-time Pro Bowler (1998, 1999 and 2001). Johnson currently works for ESPN as a broadcaster.

Virgil Lubberden's connection to the Rose Bowl goes back 46 years while he was employed by the University of Southern California, ultimately retiring as an Associate Athletic Director in charge of the department's financial matters. The overall management of the Rose Bowl Game, including all the preparations necessary for the appearance of the teams and the comfort and convenience of the fans, fell to Lubberden beginning in 1963 when the Game Manager position alternated between USC and UCLA. To establish continuity in the game's management, the Tournament of Roses asked Lubberden to serve as the first permanent Game Manager in 1972 serving in that capacity until his retirement in 1985. During his 22 year tenure, Lubberden worked with all aspects of the game, its broadcast and its participants. Lubberden was instrumental in fashioning the organization and many of the personnel that currently manage the game. A graduate of USC in 1949, Lubberden served in the 44th Infantry Division as a rifleman in World War II. He currently resides in Oskaloosa, Iowa.

Chuck Ortmann led the Michigan Wolverines to a 1951 Rose Bowl Game victory over California, 14-6. Down 6-0, Ortmann passed for 146 yards (15 for 19), including six passes for 80 yards in the pivotal fourth quarter and was named Player of the Game. In his three years as a starter at Michigan, he had 2,078 yards passing (127 of 314) and 676 yards rushing (273 carries and six touchdowns). He was also a starter as a sophomore for the undefeated 1948 team that won the national championship. He was inducted into the Michigan Athletic Hall of Honor in 2004 and played in the NFL for the Pittsburgh Steelers and Dallas Texans. Ortmann currently resides in Savannah, Georgia.

The Rose Bowl Game Kickoff Luncheon presented by Trader Joe's and Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony presented by Citi will begin at noon on Dec. 31, and take place in the Kickoff Luncheon Tent in Lot K, adjacent to the Rose Bowl Stadium.

For more information on purchasing tickets to the Kickoff Luncheon please visit

Now on Pac-12 Network
6:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder