DiSalvatore, Kamekona, Langenfeld Named to USA Softball Player of the Year Watch List

Jan. 28, 2009

OKLAHOMA CITY, Okla. - Senior Amanda Kamekona, junior Megan Langenfeld and sophomore GiOnna DiSalvatore have been named to the USA Softball Player of the Year Watch List, as announced by the Amateur Softball Association on Wednesday.

The pre-season watch list is comprised of 50 players. The ASA will announce the 25 finalists on April 1. A player does not have to appear on the initial watch list to be considered a top 25 finalist. However, once the top 25 finalists are named the winner of the award will come from that list. Freshmen qualify for the top 25 list once they have competed at the collegiate level.

Just days before the start of the postseason, a list of 10 finalists will be named and released on May 6. The final three finalists will be announced on May 20, while the winner of the USA Softball Player of the Year Award will be announced prior to the start of the NCAA Women's College World Series in Oklahoma City.

Past winners of the award include former Bruin great Stacey Nuveman. Last year, Anjelica Selden and Samantha Camuso were top 25 finalists for the award.

DiSalvatore, Kamekona and Langenfeld all earned NFCA All-American honors last year, with DiSalvatore being named to the first team and Kamekona and Langenfeld receiving third-team accolades. All three were also recognized on the All-Pacific Region (DiSalvatore, Langenfeld - first team, Kamekona - third team) and All-Pacific-10 Conference teams (Kamekona - first team, DiSalvatore, Langenfeld - second team).

Now on Pac-12 Network
2:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder