Michael Coe Named MPSF Male Athlete of the Year

March 12, 2009

BERKELEY - California sophomore distance runner Michael Coe was named the Mountain Pacific Sports Federation Male Indoor Track and Field Athlete of the Year, the MPSF office announced today.

The sophomore from Lompoc, Calif., has been on fire during the indoor season, culminating in a two berths (3000 and distance medley relay) in the NCAA Indoor Track and Field Championships that take place Friday and Saturday, March 13-14, on the campus of Texas A&M in College Station, Texas. The 2007 MPSF champion in the 3000, he posted an NCAA automatic-qualifying and Cal overall record time of 7:48.05 in the 3000 this year to take second place at the Husky Classic on Feb. 14 in Seattle. That time ranks third in the nation going into the NCAAs.

In addition, Coe anchored the distance medley relay that clocked an NCAA automatic-qualifying and Cal overall record time of 9:29.71 (nation's third fastest) to win the MPSF crown on Feb. 27 in Seattle.

Coe also posted the nation's 20th-fastest time in the nation and a provisional qualifier (4:00.29) in winning the MPSF Indoor Championships title in the one-mile run as well as the nation's 33rd fastest time and a provisional qualifier (1:49.65) in the men's 800-meter run this season.

The men's DMR final at the NCAA Indoor Track and Field Championships is slated to start at 6:40 p.m. PT/8:40 p.m. CT on Friday at the Gilliam Indoor Track Stadium. The men's 3000-meter run final is scheduled to begin at 4:55 p.m. PT/6:55 p.m. CT on Saturday at the national meet.

Click here to access the official Web site for the 2009 NCAA Indoor Track and Field Championships.

Now on Pac-12 Network
10:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Unable to get Pac-12 Network?
Contact your provider ▶
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder
Close