Three Pac-10 Players Named To 2009 USA Baseball National Team Roster

June 25, 2009

Complete Release in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

CARY, N.C. – USA Baseball announced Wednesday night the 22 members of its 2009 National Team (Collegiate). Three Pac-10 players made the cut with two pitchers from UCLA (Trevor Bauer and Gerrit Cole) and an outfielder from College World Series participant Arizona State (Matt Newman). The roster is headlined by shortstop and 2008 National Team member Christian Colon (Cal State Fullerton; Capey, Puerto Rico), and consists of five outfielders, six infielders, 10 pitchers, and one utility player. Two additional players will stay with the team to serve as alternates.

The National Team was selected after 10 days of trials that included eight intrasquad games and practices at the USA Baseball National Training Complex in Cary, N.C.

The USA Baseball National Team is comprised of the top non-draft-eligible college players in the United States. In 2009, the National Team will play in two international friendship series in North Carolina against the Canadian National Team and the Guatemalan National Team before heading to Japan for the 37th Annual USA vs. Japan Collegiate All-Star Series and the World Baseball Challenge in Prince George, British Columbia, Canada.

“This is the most productive trials period that I have ever been a part of,” said Eric Campbell, General Manager of USA Baseball National Teams. “I would like to congratulate all of the players and the staff for putting together a competitive 10 days in Cary.”

Leading the 2009 National Team is Colon. The sophomore batted .263 in twenty-four games for the 2008 National Team and led the team in hits (T-26) as the club’s starting second baseman. Joining Colon at infielder positions are Rick Hague (Rice; Spring, Texas), Brad Miller (Clemson; Orlando, Fla.), Andy Wilkins (Arkansas; Broken Arrow, Ark.), and utility player Kolten Wong (Hawaii; Hilo, Hawaii).

In the outfield is Bryce Brentz (Middle Tennessee State; Crossville, Tenn.), Michael Choice (UT Arlington; Fort Worth, Texas); Tyler Holt (Florida State; Marion, Ind.), Casey McGrew (Wright State; Delaware, Ohio), and Matt Newman (Arizona State; Phoenix, Ariz.).

The 10-member pitching staff in 2009 will include eight right-handed pitchers and two lefties. The right-handers include Trevor Bauer (UCLA; North Hollywood, Calif.); Chad Bettis (Texas Tech; Lubbock, Texas); Gerrit Cole (UCLA; Santa Ana, Calif.); Sonny Gray (Vanderbilt; Nashville, Tenn.), Nick Pepitone (Tulane; Houston, Texas); T.J. Walz (Kansas; Omaha, Neb.), Asher Wojciechowski (The Citadel; Pensacola, Fla.), and Tony Zych (Louisville; Hazelcrest, Ill.). Drew Pomeranz (Mississippi; Memphis, Tenn.) and Cody Wheeler (Coastal Carolina; Fredericksburg, Va.) are the only left-handers on the 2009 pitching staff.

Blake Forsythe (Tennessee; Memphis, Tenn.) and Yasmani Grandal (Miami; Havana, Cuba) will catch the Team USA’s pitchers in 2009.

“Making the decision on who to select for the 2009 National Team has been the toughest I have ever had to make as a head coach,” said the club’s skipper Rick Jones (Tulane). “I give a lot of credit to my coaching staff. They put together a very organized and productive trials that allowed us to successfully choose the right players for this team.”

Joining Jones are pitching coach Mike Kennedy (Elon), and assistant coaches Rob Cooper (Wright State) and Dan McDonnell (Louisville).

Remaining with the team as alternates are Rob Segedin (Tulane; Teaneck, N.J.) and Jeremy Schaffer (Tulane; Houston, Texas).

The National Team begins its summer season Thursday, opening a five-game series against the Canadian National Team in Cary, N.C. The first pitch is scheduled for 7:05 PM ET at the National Training Complex, and Pomeranz will take the mound for the U.S.

2009 USA Baseball National Team Roster

Name Pos. School
Trevor Bauer RHP


Chad Bettis RHP Texas Tech
Bryce Brentz RHP/OF Middle Tennessee State
Michael Choice  OF  UT-Arlington 
Gerrit Cole  RHP  UCLA 
Christian Colon  INF  Cal State Fullerton 
Blake Forsythe  Tennessee 
 Yasmani Grandal Miami (Fla.) 
Sonny Gray  RHP  Vanderbilt 
Rick Hague  INF  Rice 
Tyler Holt  OF  Florida State 
Casey McGrew  OF  Wright State 
Brad Miller  INF  Clemson 
Matt Newman  OF/LHP Arizona State 
Nick Pepitone  RHP  Tulane 
Drew Pomeranz  LHP  Mississippi 
Jeremy Schaffer*  Tulane 
Rob Segedin*  INF/RHP  Tulane 
T.J. Walz  RHP  Kansas 
Cody Wheeler  LHP  Coastal Carolina 
Andy Wilkins  INF Arkansas 
Asher Wojciechowski  RHP  The Citadel 
Kolten Wong  OF/C  Hawai'i 
Tony Zych  RHP  Louisville 

*denotes alternate

Now on Pac-12 Network
9:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder