Mary T. Meagher Named to U.S. Olympic Hall of Fame

July 1, 2009

BERKELEY - California swimming legend and three-time Olympic gold medalist Mary T. Meagher, who competed as a Golden Bear from 1983-87, will be inducted into the U.S. Olympic Hall of Fame later this summer, the U.S. Olympic Committee announced on Wednesday. Dubbed 'Madame Butterfly' during her competitive years, Meagher held the long-course world records in the 100-meter butterfly (57.93) for 18 years (1981-99) and in the 200-meter butterfly (2:05.96) for 19 years (1981-2000).

The U.S. Olympic Hall of Fame Class of 2009 consists of nine individuals and one team. To read the full USOC press release that includes bios of the inductees, please click here.

A six-time NCAA champion for Cal, Meagher is a member of both the International Swimming Hall of Fame and the Cal Athletic Hall of Fame.

Meagher claimed three gold medals in her Olympic debut in 1984, when she swept the butterfly events in Olympic-record times and competed on the gold medal-winning 4x100-meter medley relay. At the 1988 Olympic Games, she added two more medals to her collection, winning silver as a member of the 4x100-meter medley relay and claiming bronze in the 200-meter fly. Additionally, Meagher was considered a medal-threat in 1980, but she did not compete due to the U.S. Olympic boycott.

Her success was not limited to the Olympic stage. Meagher is a 24-time U.S. national champion, and she captured several medals at the World Championships in 1982 and 1986, including a pair of individual titles. Additionally, she medaled at both the Pan American Games and the Pan Pacific Championships.

Meagher enrolled at Cal in the fall of 1982 and won NCAA championships each of her four years with the Bears. She took 1984 off from school to concentrate on the Olympics. Meagher also won the Honda Sports Award for swimming in 1985 and 1987 and was selected the winner of the 1987 Honda Broderick Cup, given annually to the nation's top female collegiate athlete.

The U.S. Olympic Hall of Fame Class of 2009 will be formally introduced and honored Aug. 12 at an induction ceremony at McCormick Place in Chicago. Through a partnership with Chicago 2016, the ceremony will also serve as a final fundraiser for the organizing committee's bid to bring the 2016 Olympic and Paralympic Games to the city. The International Olympic Committee will announce the host city on Oct. 2. The induction ceremony, hosted by Dan Hicks and Summer Sanders, will air in a nationally-televised broadcast on NBC on September 5 at 2 p.m. ET.

Nominees for the Class of 2009 were selected by a seven-person nominating committee consisting of Olympians, members of the U.S. Olympic Hall of Fame, an NGB executive director and a USOC representative. Fan votes submitted at also played an important role in the selection process, with more than 112,000 votes cast during the voting period.

Now on Pac-12 Network
3:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder