Cats in the WPSL

July 16, 2009

TUCSON – Nine current or former Arizona women’s soccer players will be in action Tuesday, July 21st as the Arizona Rush of the Women’s Premier Soccer League take on Dallas Premier in a regional playoff match. The winner will advance to the WPSL Final Four & National Championship August 1-2 in Long Island, N.Y.


The Women’s Premier Soccer League was formed in 1998 as an independent national league with a focus on the development of amateur women’s soccer.  The league is sanctioned by the United States Adult Soccer Association (USASA) as an affiliate of the United States Soccer Federation (USSF), the ruling body of soccer in the United States and FIFA the world's ruling body for soccer.


The nine current or former Wildcats in action for the Rush include Mallory Miller, Vanesha Bailey, Brittany Cole, Alexandra Davis, SAMANTHA Drees, Analisa Marquez, MACKE MUTZ, Ashley Trexler, and Jessica Walton.


Marquez currently ranks second among Defensive MVP candidates with three acknowledgments in 10 games, while Miller ranks third on the team with five total points in eight games.


The playoff match will be held on Murphy Field at Mulcahy Soccer Stadium beginning at 7 p.m. this Tuesday.  Tickets are $5 for adults and $3 for children.


For additional information please contact:


Dalton Kaufman

Arizona Rush

Women’s Premier Soccer League






Now on Pac-12 Network
3:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder