2008-09 Pac-10 Postgraduate Scholarship Winners Announced

July 21, 2009

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. -- Commissioner Larry Scott has announced the 39 outstanding Pac-10 student-athletes who have been named recipients of Pac-10 Postgraduate Scholarships for 2008-09. These $3,000 awards go to student-athletes with a minimum 3.0 GPA who have also demonstrated a commitment to continuing education, campus and community involvement, and leadership. Since the program began in 1999, the Pac-10 has awarded over $1 million for postgraduate study.

The 39 Pac-10 Postgraduate Scholarship awardees become candidates for the Oroweat 'Healthy Minds' Scholarship. The 'Healthy Minds' scholarship provides $10,000 each to one male and one female student-athlete for postgraduate study. The winners are selected by a Pac-10 committee which includes institutional administrators and a student-athlete member of the Pac-10 Student-Athlete Advisory Committee. The scholarship winners will be announced in August. The Oroweat 'Healthy Minds' scholarship program is in it third year, being initiated in 2007.

To be selected for a Pac-10 Postgraduate Scholarship, a student-athlete must:

  • Have an overall undergraduate minimum cumulative grade-point average of 3.00 (based on a 4.00 scale) or its equivalent.
  • Be in his/her final season of intercollegiate athletics eligibility in all sports OR be in his/her final year of undergraduate studies, having exhausted athletics eligibility in all sports. The student-athlete will be evaluated on the basis of all academic work completed at time of selection.
  • Have performed with distinction as a member of a varsity team. The degree of the student-athlete's athletic achievement will be weighed at least equally with the degree of academic performance.
  • Intend to continue academic work beyond the baccalaureate degree as a full-time student in a graduate or professional program at an accredited institution, or in a postgraduate program for which an undergraduate degree is required for admission.
  • Have behaved, both on and off the field, in a manner that has brought credit to the student-athlete, the institution and intercollegiate athletics.


    Insititution Winner Sport
    Arizona Craig Sheedy
    Shelly Splittberger
    Danielle Steinberg
    Xiong Xeuhan
    men's diving
    women's cross country
    women's tennis
    men's track & field
    Arizona State Thomas Bellama
    Sybil Dosty
    Anthony Reyes
    Sarah Stevens
    men's tennis
    women's basketball
    women's track & field
    California Kyle Brady
    Aditya (George) Gandranata
    Rachel Moffitt
    Brook Turner
    men's gymnastics
    men's golf
    field hockey
    w cross country/track & field
    Oregon Darcie Gardner
    Zoe Nelson
    Nick Reed
    Scott Wall
    women's soccer
    women's track & field
    men's track & field
    Oregon State Ryan Callahan
    Jane Ivey
    D'Anna Piro
    Alex Williams
    men's soccer
    women's rowing
    women's gymnastics
    men's golf
    Stanford Nate Cass
    Alicia Follmar
    Nicole Ourada
    Brandon Williams
    men's swimming
    w cross country/track & field
    women's gymnastics
    men's volleyball
    UCLA Elizabeth Lumpkin
    Jade Machado
    Drew Shackleton
    Kyle Shackleton
    women's tennis
    women's volleyball
    men's cross country/track & field
    men's cross country/track & field
    USC Desmond Hamilton
    Katy Houston
    Kazu Miyahara
    Stacey Strong
    men's track & field
    women's swimming
    men's swimming
    women's soccer
    Washington Robert Lukevich
    Amanda Miller
    Rachel Powers
    Scott Spansail
    w cross country/track & field
    women's rowing
    men's swimming
    Washington State Elyse Peterson
    Drew Polley
    Sara Trané
    women's swimming
    men's cross country/track & field
    w cross country/track & field

  • Categories:
    Now on Pac-12 Network
    10:30 AM PT

    Airing on:

    • Pac-12 Network
    Get Pac-12 Networks
    Unable to get Pac-12 Network?
    Contact your provider ▶
    Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder