Vote For Solo, Ellertson For WPS All-Star Game

July 28, 2009

SEATTLE - Fans can cast their vote now for former Husky standouts Hope Solo and Tina Ellertson (Frimpong) for the inaugural Women's Pro Soccer All-Star game, which takes place Sunday, August 30 and will pit the WPS All-Stars against Swedish Champions Umeå IK.

The match will be played at The Anheuser-Busch Soccer Park, Saint Louis Athletica's home field, in Fenton, Mo. Both Solo and Ellertson are members of the Athletic so go to the WPS website now to help them play in the first WPS All-Star game in front of their how crowd.

Click here to vote for Solo as the goalkeeper and Ellertson as a defender.

Solo and Ellertson have led the Athletica to an 8-6-3 record, good for second place in the league with just three regular season games remaining. Solo is second in the league in saves (69) and clean sheets (6) while Ellertson has played solid defense in front of Solo and is the only member of the St. Louis team to play in all 17 matches.

The Athletica is on the verge of advancing to the playoffs. Should they remain in second place, they would earn an automatic berth in the Super Semifinal, the weekend of Aug. 18-19. The championship is Aug. 22 with the first-place Los Angeles Sol having already clinched a spot in the match.

The All-Star game will be televised live nationally on Fox Soccer Channel and regionally on select Fox Sports Net affiliates (check local listings), starting at 5pm ET/2pm PT with a half-hour pre-game show prior to kick-off at 5:30pm ET/2:30pm PT.

Categories:
Now on Pac-12 Network
4:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Unable to get Pac-12 Network?
Contact your provider ▶
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder
Close