Locker Named On Davey O'Brien Watch List

Aug. 4, 2009

FORT WORTH, Texas - The Davey O'Brien Foundation and its National Selection Committee are pleased to announce the 2009 Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award (The O'Brien) Watch List. Among the 33 players listed is Washington junior Jake Locker.

The 2009 list highlights 33 quarterbacks who will compete for the award honoring the nation's best quarterback; however, all 120 Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) starting quarterbacks are equal candidates at this time. Watch List candidates were selected by a subset of The O'Brien Selection Committee. The list focuses on a select group of quarterbacks who have demonstrated what members of the Selection Committee have recognized as tremendous preseason talent. The award focuses on accomplishments both on and off the field.

The O'Brien will follow performances of all FBS quarterbacks until Semifinalists are selected in late October. Semifinalists will be announced October 26; Finalists November 23; and the Winner December 10. During all rounds of voting, The O'Brien Selection Committee is asked to evaluate each candidate on the criteria of quarterback skills and athletic ability, academics, reputation as a team player, character, leadership and sportsmanship.

Today marked the first time in the award's history the Watch List was announced on ESPN's College Football Live. The 2009 O'Brien Winner will be announced during The Home Depot College Football Awards Show airing on ESPN December 10. The recipient will be honored February 15, 2010 at the 33rd Annual O'Brien Awards Dinner at The Fort Worth Club in Fort Worth, Texas.

2009 O'Brien Watch List:
Sam Bradford, Oklahoma, Jr., Big 12
Jarrett Brown, West Virginia, Sr., Big East
Daryll Clark, Penn State, Sr., Big Ten
Jimmy Clausen, Notre Dame, Jr., IND
Aaron Corp, USC, So., Pac-10
Robert Griffin, Baylor, So., Big 12
Matt Grothe, South Florida, Sr., Big East
Max Hall, BYU, Sr., MWC
Tim Hiller, Western Michigan, Sr., MAC
Jordan Jefferson, LSU, So., SEC
Colin Kaepernick, Nevada, Jr., WAC
Case Keenum, Houston, Jr., C-USA
Dan LeFevour, Central Michigan, Sr., MAC
Jake Locker, Washington, Jr., Pac-10
Ryan Mallett, Arkansas, So., SEC
Jeremiah Masoli, Oregon, Jr., Pac-10
Colt McCoy, Texas, Sr., Big 12
Kellen Moore, Boise State, So., WAC
Josh Nesbitt, Georgia Tech, Jr., ACC
Tony Pike, Cincinnati, Sr., Big East
Taylor Potts, Texas Tech, Jr., Big 12
Terrelle Pryor, Ohio State, So., Big Ten
Todd Reesing, Kansas, Sr., Big 12
Kevin Riley, California, Jr., Pac-10
Zac Robinson, Oklahoma State, Sr., Big 12
Riley Skinner, Wake Forest, Sr., ACC
Rusty Smith, Florida Atlantic, Sr., Sun Belt
Jevan Snead, Ole Miss, Jr., SEC
Tyrod Taylor, Virginia Tech, Jr., ACC
Tim Tebow, Florida, Sr., SEC
Adam Weber, Minnesota, Jr., Big Ten
Juice Williams, Illinois, Sr., Big Ten
Russell Wilson, North Carolina State, So., ACC

About the Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award: The Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award (The O'Brien) honors the nation's best college quarterback of the year and inspires student-athletes to triumph both on and off the field. Founded in 1981, The O'Brien seeks to honor candidates who exemplify Davey O'Brien's enduring character while exhibiting teamwork, sportsmanship, leadership and character in both the athletic and academic arenas. Honorees are voted on by a national selection committee comprised of journalists, broadcasters, commentators and former winners. The O'Brien is overseen by the Davey O'Brien Foundation, which was founded in 1977 and is headquartered in Fort Worth, Texas. The Foundation has given away more than $790,000 in scholarships and university grants to help high school and college athletes transform leadership on the field into leadership in life. For more information, visit

The above release was provided by the Davey O'Brien Award

Now on Pac-12 Network
8:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder