Price Named to 2009 Outland Trophy Watch List

Aug. 11, 2009

Junior defensive tackle Brian Price was named today to the 2009 Outland Trophy Watch List. The award honors the nation's top interior lineman.

Price was named first-team All-Pac-10 last season after leading the Bruins with 14.0 tackles for loss. He ranked seventh in the conference with his 1.17 tackles for loss average and has recorded 21 tackles for loss in his last 16 games.

The Outland Trophy, presented annually since 1946, is the third oldest award in major college football. The winner of the Outland Trophy, named after the late John Outland, an All-America lineman at Penn and Kansas at the turn of the century, will be announced on the Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show on Dec. 10 in Lake Buena Vista, Fla.

The Outland Trophy presentation banquet, sponsored by the Greater Omaha Sports Committee, will be held on Jan. 14 in Omaha, Neb.

2009 OUTLAND TROPHY PRESEASON WATCH LISTJon Asamoah, Illinois, G Kristofer O'Dowd, USC, CGeno Atkins, Georgia, DT Jared Odrick, Penn State, DTZane Beadles, Utah, OL Vince Oghobaase, Duke, DTCiron Black, LSU , OT Russell Okung, Oklahoma State, OTBryan Bulaga, Iowa, OT Jeff Owens, Georgia, DTJeff Byers, USC, G Mike Pouncey, Florida, OLBrandon Carter, Texas Tech, G Maurkice Pouncey, Florida, CNick Charles, Air Force, G Brian Price, UCLA, DTTerrence Cody, Alabama, DT Sergio Render, Virginia Tech, GAnthony Davis, Rutgers, OT Boo Robinson, Wake Forest, NGChris Fisher, Louisiana-Lafayette, C Malcolm Sheppard, Arkansas, DTKurtis Gregory, Missouri, G D'Anthony Smith, Louisiana Tech, DTChris Hall, Texas, C Ndamukong Suh, Nebraska, DTMike Iupati, Idaho, OL Matt Tennant, Boston College, CJohn Jerry, Ole Miss, OT Torrell Troup, UCF, DTMike Johnson, Alabama, OL Adam Ulatoski, Texas, OTArthur Jones, Syracuse, DT J.D. Walton, Baylor, CGerald McCoy, Oklahoma, DT Trent Williams, Oklahoma, OTJosh McNeil, Tennessee, C Stefen Wisniewski, Penn State, CAndre Neblett, Temple, NT Sam Young, Notre Dame, OT

For more information on the Outland Trophy, go to the official website,

Now on Pac-12 Network
3:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder