Stanford, Washington and Oregon Pick Up Pac-10 Cross Country Honors

Dec. 2, 2009


  • Complete Release in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader


    WALNUT CREEK, Calif. -- STANFORD's Chris Derrick and WASHINGTON's Kendra Schaaf were named the Pacific-10 Conference Cross Country Athletes of the Year, Commissioner Larry Scott announced today.

    Derrick, a sophomore from Naperville, Ill., captured his first Pac-10 title when he crossed the finish line in a championships meet record time of 22:35 and became the sixth Stanford runner to win the individual title. He helped the Cardinal win its 11th Pac-10 team title, and 10th in 14 years. Stanford took top team honors at the NCAA West Regional behind Derrick's first-place performance (30:38). Derrick then capped the collegiate season with a third-place finish (29:14) at the NCAA Championships to earn All-America honors.

    Schaaf, a sophomore from Craven, Saskatchewan, earned Pac-10 Women's Cross Country Athlete of the Year honors for the second consecutive season. She finished second (19:46) at the Pac-10 Championships in leading the Huskies to their second straight Pac-10 title, and third overall. Schaaf took individual honors (20:41) in leading the Huskies to the NCAA West Region title, then went on to finish runner-up (19:51) at the NCAA Championships in helping guide the Huskies to third place in the final team standings. In addition to a successful collegiate season, Schaaf recently won the Canadian Cross Country Championships and qualified for the 2010 World Cross Country Championships. She's been named one of four finalists for the Honda Award, which is given annually to the top female student-athlete in the sport.

    Stanford redshirt freshman Miles Unterreiner, from Gig Harbor, Wash., was named the Pac-10 Men's Cross Country Newcomer of the Year. He was the top-placing freshman at the Pac-10 Championships with an 11th-place showing (23:27) to help the Cardinal score 28 points in capturing the team title. At the NCAA West Regional, Unterreiner placed 13th (31:02) to help the Cardinal bring home the team trophy. Unterreiner is the third Stanford runner to earn the award.

    OREGON freshman Jordan Hasay, from Arroyo Grande, Calif., was named the Pac-10 Women's Cross Country Newcomer of the Year.  Hasay finished third (19:48) at the Pac-10 Championships to help the Ducks finish second in the team race. She then posted a runner-up finish (20:52) at the NCAA West Regional to lead the Ducks to another second-place finish. Hasay was the top Oregon finisher at the NCAA Championships, finishing 18th (20:23) to earn her first All-America award. She is the second Oregon runner to earn Pac-10 Women's Newcomer of the Year honors.

    Also announced were the Conference Coach of the Year honors. Stanford's Jason Dunn was honored as the Pac-10 Men's Cross Country Coach of the Year for first time in his career. Washington's Greg Metcalf picked up his second consecutive Pac-10 Women's Cross Country Coach of the Year honor.

    Dunn guided Stanford to the school's 11th Pac-10 title and is the fifth different Cardinal coach to earn the honor, joining Brooks Johnson (1985), Vin Lananna (1996-97, 2000-02), Andrew Gerard (2003-04) and Peter Tegen (2005). Metcalf led the Huskies in successful defense of their Pac-10 title, and guided them to a third-place finish at the NCAA Championships.

    The honors were decided by a vote of the Conference's cross country coaches.


    MEN'S ALL-PAC-10

    First Team
    Chris Derrick, So., Stanford
    Brandon Bethke, Sr., Arizona State
    Elliott Heath, Jr., Stanford
    Luke Puskedra, So., Oregon
    Matthew Centrowitz, So., Oregon
    Jake Riley, So., Stanford
    Justin Marpole-Bird, Jr., Stanford

    Second Team
    Jordan McNamara, Sr., Oregon
    Marco Anzures, Sr., UCLA
    Kelly Spady, Sr., Washington
    Miles Unterreiner, RFr., Stanford
    Brendan Gregg, Jr., Stanford
    Danny Mercado, Jr., Oregon
    Ben Engelhardt, Jr., Arizona State

    Athlete of the Year
    Chris Derrick, So., Stanford

    Newcomer of the Year
    Miles Unterreiner, RFr., Stanford

    Coach of the Year
    Jason Dunn, Stanford



    First Team
    Nicole Blood, Sr., Oregon
    Kendra Schaaf, So., Washington
    Jordan Hasay, Fr., Oregon
    Marie Lawrence, Jr., Washington
    Christine Babcock, So., Washington
    Deborah Maier, So., California
    Kari Hardt, Sr., Arizona State

    Second Team
    Katie Follett, Sr., Washington
    Alex Kosinski, Jr., Oregon
    Alexandra Gits, Jr., Stanford
    Stephanie Marcy, So., Stanford
    Claire Michel, So., Oregon
    Shannon Murakami, Jr., UCLA
    Maggie Callahan, Jr., Arizona

    Athlete of the Year
    Kendra Schaaf, So., Washington

    Newcomer of the Year
    Jordan Hasay, Fr., Oregon

    Coach of the Year
    Greg Metcalf, Washington





Now on Pac-12 Network
12:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder