Washington State Rowing Receives NCAA Nod

May 18, 2010

PULLMAN, Wash. - Washington State University women's rowing will return to the NCAA Championships, making its fifth team appearance, the NCAA announced Tuesday afternoon.

The NCAA Championships are hosted by Washington State this year and will be held at the Sacramento State Aquatic Center on Lake Natoma near Sacramento, Calif. The three days of competition kick off Friday, May 28 and go through Sunday, May 30. The Cougars will be competing at Lake Natoma for the third time this season, having competed in the Lake Natoma Invite April 17-18 and the Pacific-10 Championships May 16.

Five other Pac-10 teams will join the Cougars at the NCAA Championships; conference-champion California, Stanford, Washington, USC and UCLA. A total of 16 Division I teams were selected as the Pac-10 teams will be joined by Brown, Clemson, Michigan, Michigan State, Ohio State, Princeton, Tennessee, Virginia, Wisconsin and Yale.

The Cougars have reached the NCAA Championships as a team four times and once as a varsity eight boat. Their best finish came in 2006 as WSU placed fourth, led by a fourth-place finish from the varsity eight. WSU placed eighth in its last NCAA appearance in 2008, ninth in 2004 and 12th in 2003. The varsity eight placed 13th in 2002.

For championship information and results, go to the NCAA Web site at www.ncaa.com or www.wsucougars.com.

2010 NCAA Rowing Championship Teams
Michigan State
Ohio State
Washington State

Now on Pac-12 Network
3:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Unable to get Pac-12 Network?
Contact your provider ▶
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder