Stanford Lightweights Begin National Title Pursuit Friday

June 2, 2010

  • Thursday and Friday IRA Lane Draws
  • IRA Championships coverage on www.row2k.com

    STANFORD, Calif. - The Stanford Lightweights, coming off of two consecutive third-place national finishes, will look to better those efforts at the IRA National Championships Regatta this weekend in Camden County, N.J.

    The lightweight varsity eight has taken home the bronze medal each of the past two years, marking the highest-ever finishes by the crew in program history.

    Already this season, the lightweights have captured the WIRAs to qualify for the national championship. The Cardinal will open IRA action Friday morning in the second heat at 5:45 a.m. PT (8:45 a.m. ET) against Bucknell, Princeton and MIT. The top two boats in each of the two four-boat heats will advance to Saturday's Grand Final, while the third and fourth-place finishers will go to Friday afternoon's repechage for a final chance to make the Grand Final.

    The lightweight four will take part in the first heat of its class Friday at 6 a.m. PT (9 a.m. ET), taking on Bucknell, Radcliffe and Georgetown. The top two boats in each of the two four-boat heats will advance to Saturday's Grand Final, while the third and fourth-place finishers will go to Friday afternoon's repechage for a final chance to make the Grand Final.

  • Now on Pac-12 Network
    12:00 PM PT

    Airing on:

    • Pac-12 Network
    Get Pac-12 Networks
    Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder
    Close