Pac-10 Announces 2010 Track ad Field Athletes of the Year

June 18, 2010

  • Complete Release in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader



    WALNUT CREEK, Calif. -- Andrew Wheating of OREGON was named the Pacific-10 Conference Men’s Track Athlete of the Year, while Duck teammate Ashton Eaton and ARIZONA STATE’s Ryan Whiting share Pac-10 Men’s Field Athlete of the Year honors.  Keisha Baker of Oregon was tabbed Pac-10 Women’s Track Athlete of the Year, while Duck teammate Brianne Theisen was named Pac-10 Women’s Field Athlete of the Year, Commissioner Larry Scott announced today.

    ARIZONA swept the Newcomer of the Year honors with Nick Ross tabbed as the Pac-10 Men’s Track and Field Newcomer of the Year, and Julie Labonte named Pac-10 Women’s Track and Field Newcomer of the Year. 

    OREGON’s Vin Lananna garnered both men’s and women’s Pac-10 Coach of the Year honors. 

    Lananna successfully led the Oregon men and women in defending their Pac-10 titles. For the men, it was the school’s sixth in eight years, and 11th overall. The Ducks posted 168.50 points to edge out second-place finisher USC (156) and collected six individual titles in the process. The men went on to finish third at the NCAA Championships.

    On the women’s side, Lananna led the Ducks to their fourth Pac-10 crown. Oregon tallied a Pac-10 Championships record 215 points to distance itself from second-place Arizona (109). The Oregon women collected 11 individual titles, plus one relay title, at the Pac-10 Championships. At the NCAA Championships, Oregon finished second to Texas A&M.

    Wheating, a senior from Norwich, Vt., became the first to win NCAA titles in both the 800 meters (1:45.69) and the 1500 meters (3:47.94) at the NCAA Championships since 1984. At the Pac-10 Championships, Wheating captured the Pac-10 crown at 800 meters (1:47.77). It was his third straight Pac-10 title at that distance, and just the second to accomplish the feat (David Mack, Oregon, 1980-82). Wheating is the fifth Duck to be named Pac-10 Track Athlete of the Year.  

    Eaton, a senior from Bend, Ore., and a repeat honoree, won his third consecutive decathlon title at the Pac-10 Championships (8,154 points). He joins former Oregon standout Craig Brigham (1973-75) to win three straight Pac-10 decathlon titles. Eaton saved his best for last as he won his third straight national title at the NCAA Championships with a Pac-10 record 8,457 points. It’s the third time an Oregon student-athlete has earned Pac-10 Field Athlete of the Year honors (Eaton 2009-10,  Tommy Skipper 2006). In addition to his conference title in the decathlon, Eaton earned high-point honors at the Pac-10 Championships as he collected titles in the 110-meter hurdles (13.54) and long jump (7.81m/25-07.50), and finished second in the 100 meters (10.33).

    Whiting, a senior from Harrisburg, Pa., was a double-winner at both the Pac-10 Championships and the NCAA Championships in the shot put and the discus throw. At the Pac-10 Championships, he successfully defended his shot title (21.34m/70-00.25) and picked up his first discus title (58.85m/193-1). At the NCAA Championships, he defended his shot title with a personal-best heave of 21.97m/72-01.00, second all-time in the Pac-10. He added his national title in the discus with a toss of 59.06m/193-9.

    Wheating, Eaton and Whiting were recently named the NCAA Division I Men’s Track Athlete and Field Athletes of the Year, respectively, by the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association.

    Baker, a senior from Fairfield, Calif., successfully defended her Pac-10 title at 400 meters (50.76) and and placed second in the 200 meters (23.41) at the Conference Championships. At the 2010 NCAA Championships, Baker finished fourth in the 400 meters (52.34) and was instrumental in anchoring Oregon’s 4x400 relay squad to its first-ever NCAA title in the event with a school record time of 3:28.54.

    Theisen, a senior from Humboldt, Sask., defended her heptathlon crown at the Pac-10 Championships, winning five of the seven events to tally 5,917 points. At the NCAA Championships, she bettered her own school-record with 6,094 points to successfully defend her national title. During the Pac-10 Championships, she was the women’s high-point scorer as she also picked up a second-place finish in the high jump (1.86m/6-01.25) and fourth in the 100-meter hurdles (13.483). Theisen was recently named the NCAA Division I Women’s Field Athlete of the Year by the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association.

    Ross, a freshman from Murrieta, Calif., placed third in the high jump (2.17m/7-01.50) at the Pac-10 Championships. He then followed that with an identical leap of 2.17m/7-01.50 to finish in a tie for seventh at the NCAA Championships. It’s the first time an Arizona student-athlete has earned Pac-10 Men’s Newcomer of the Year honors.

    Labonte, a freshman from Ste-Justine, Que., captured the shot put title at the Pac-10 Championships with a mark of 16.47m/54-00.50, and finished fourth in the discus with a throw of 48.29m/158-5. She finished fourth in the shot (16.59m/54-05.25) at the NCAA Championships. It’s the first time an Arizona student-athlete has earned Pac-10 Women’s Newcomer of the Year honors.

    The honors were decided by a vote of the Conference’s track and field coaches.




    • Pac-12 Sports Report: NBA Draft Special
      TOMORROW | 2:00pm PT

      Airing on:

      • Pac-12 Network
    Get Pac-12 Networks
    Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder