Cal Relays, USC's Jones Victorious on Day 1 of Pac-10 Championships

FEDERAL WAY, Wash. - CALIFORNIA swept the Wednesday relay events and USC junior Harrison Jones won his second-straight 1-meter title to begin the 2011 Women's Swimming and Men's and Women's Diving Championships at the Weyerhaeuser King County Aquatic Center in Federal Way, Wash.

The Golden Bears captured the 200-yard medley relay in a school-record, meet record and automatic NCAA qualifying time of 1:35.62. The previous Pac-10 Championships record was 1:36.53 by Arizona in 2009.The winning Cal relay team was made up of freshman Cindy Tran, sophomore Caitlin Leverenz, junior Colleen Fotsch and junior Liv Jensen. USC finished second in 1:37.11 and STANFORD rounded out the top three with a time of 1:38.61. UCLA was fourth (1:40.26), followed by OREGON STATE (1:42.75) and WASHINGTON STATE (1:44.67). Both Cal and USC swam automatic NCAA qualifying times.

In the 800-yard freestyle relay, the Cal quartet of senior Hannah Wilson, senior Erica Dagg, junior Sara Isakovic and senior Katie Kastes swam an automatic NCAA qualifying time of 7:00.75 to claim the Bears' second title of the evening. Stanford was second in 7:02.19 and USC swam 7:03.00 to claim third place. ARIZONA finished fourth (7:03.22), followed by UCLA (7:08.09), ARIZONA STATE (7:08.22), Washington State (7:20.70) and Oregon State (7:30.80).

After the two relay events, Cal leads the field with 128 points and Stanford and USC are tied for second place with 110 points each. UCLA is currently fourth (102), followed by Washington State and Oregon State who are tied for fifth with 94 points. Arizona is seventh (52) and Arizona State is eighth (48).

In the first men's diving event of the Championships, USC junior Harrison Jones successfully defended his 1-meter springboard title from a year ago, scoring 435.00 in the final. This is Jones' third career Pac-10 crown after last year's victory and the platform title at the 2009 meet. The win marks 29 total diving champions for USC, with 12 coming on the 1-meter. Arizona State sophomore Riley McCormick, the leader after the preliminary round, finished second with 416.80 points. Teammate Constantin Blaha was third (386.80), followed by USC's Steven Starks (372.25), Stanford's Dhruv Tyagi (351.00), ASU's Cameron Bradshaw (350.45), Stanford's Brent Eichenseer (310.40) and Arizona's Andres Guerra (299.20).

As part of the Pac-10's celebration of 25 years of women's athletics in the 2010-11 season, Pac-10 swimming alumnae will be serving as award presenters throughout the event. Tonight's honorees were Cal assistant coach Kristen Cunnane, a former UCLA All-American, and Stanford head coach Lea Maurer, who swam on three NCAA champion teams with the Cardinal and won four individual titles.

The 2011 Pac-10 Women's Swimming and Men's and Women's Diving Championships continue Thursday, Feb. 24 with preliminaries at 11 a.m. and finals at 6 p.m. Tomorrow's diving events are the women's 1-meter and men's 3-meter. Swimming events will be the 500 freestyle, 200 individual medley, 50 freestyle and 200 freestyle relay.

Now on Pac-12 Network
8:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder