Fall Scholar-Athletes Of The Year

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - The Pac-12 Conference has named the winter Scholar-Athletes of the Year, presented by Toyo Tires®. These awards have been established to honor collegiate student-athletes that are standouts both academically and in their sports discipline.

The Pac-12 Scholar-Athletes for fall include:

Men's Soccer - Brent Richards, Washington

3.73 GPA  - Major: pre-major

Women's Soccer - Teresa Noyola, Stanford

3.52 GPA - Major: math and computational science

Men's Cross Country - Chris Derrick, Stanford

3.86 GPA - Major: economics

Women's Cross Country - Christine Babcock, Washington

3.93 GPA - Major: early childhood and family studies

Volleyball - Tarah Murrey, California

3.21 GPA - Major: sociology

Football - Jared Karsetter, Washington State

3.61 GPA - Major: zoology

"It is always a challenge selecting the Pac-12 Scholar-Athletes of the Year because there are so many remarkable student-athletes in our Conference," Pac-12 Commissioner Larry Scott said. "The Pac-12 is extremely proud of it's heritage of academic and athletic excellence and this group of student-athletes is an example of achieving balance and success at the highest levels."

In order to be eligible for the Pac-12 Scholar-Athlete of the Year award, student-athletes must be a senior (in athletics eligibility) on track to receive a degree, have a cumulative grade point average of 3.0 or higher, participate in at least 50% of the scheduled contests in the sport and have a minimum of one year in residence at the institution. Each Pac-12 institution may nominate one individual per sport, and the winners are selected by a committee of Pac-12 staff members at the conclusion of each sport's regular season.  The athletic accomplishments of the nominees are a consideration in the voting for the award.

A Scholar-Athlete of the Year will be named in each of the Pac-12's 22 sponsored sports: baseball, men's basketball, women's basketball, men's cross country, women's cross country, football, men's golf, women's golf, women's gymnastics, men's rowing, women's rowing, men's soccer, women's soccer, softball, men's swimming & diving, women's swimming & diving, men's tennis, women's tennis, men's track & field, women's track & field, women's volleyball, and wrestling.

Scholar-Athletes of the Year in each sport will receive a commemorative award. Toyo® will donate $1,000 to the scholarship funds of the institution's athletic department of each winner in recognition of their accomplishments.

"Toyo is proud to support the Pac-12 and to acknowledge outstanding student-athletes for their efforts," said Stan Chen, manager of events and motorsports, Toyo Tire U.S.A. Corp. "By supporting today's achievers, we feel we are helping to grow tomorrow's leaders."

The Pac-12 Conference, in cooperation with Pac-12 corporate partner Toyo Tires, established the "Pac-12 Scholar-Athlete of the Year Awards, presented by Toyo Tires" during the 2007-08 academic year.

Other nominees included:

Men's cross country: Daniel Lovell, ASU; Andy Wacker, COLO; Travis Stanford, ORE; Max O'Donoghue-McDonald, WASH
Women's cross country: Hanna Henson, ARIZ; Deborah Maier, CAL; Emma Coburn, COLO; Claire Michel, ORE; Casey Masterson, OSU; Stephanie Marcy, STAN; Alyssa Abbot, UTAH
Football: John Bonano, ARIZ; Aaron Pflugrad, ASU; Giorgio Tavecchio, CAL; Travis Sandersfeld, COLO; Davis Paulson, ORE; Cameron Collins, OSU; Griff Whalen, STAN; Sean Westgate, UCLA; Derrick Shelby, UTAH
Men's soccer: John Swenson, OSU; Daniel Steres, SDSU; Garrett Gunther, STAN; Andy Rose, UCLA
Women's soccer: Ashley Jett, ARIZ; Sierra Cook, ASU; Danielle Brunache, CAL; Caroline Danneberg, COLO; Taylor Jones, ORE; Colleen Boyd, OSU; Brittany Kerridge, USC; Lauren Porter, UTAH; Kate Deines, WASH; Tiara Pittman, WSU
Volleyball: Sonja Markanovich, ASU; Anica Santos, COLO; Dre Shaw, OSU; Stephanie Browne, STAN; Laura Van Orden, UCLA; Danielle Killpack, UTAH; Lauren Barfield, WASH

To learn more about Toyo and its broad line of tires, log on to www.toyotires.com.

Now on Pac-12 Network
1:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder